track ir problems in gtr

Post Reply
tobias
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2005 5:00 am
Location: frankfurt/germany

track ir problems in gtr

Post by tobias » Mon Mar 07, 2005 12:18 am

Dear all,

when i start gtr and want to use my trackir 3pro i only can use it after several changes of the profils in the track ir software.
(gtr is still running, just jump back to desktop with ALT+TAB)
i load different standart profiles (exclusive load) and sometimes it works somtimes not.
(i dont use customer profiles)
and when it works it stops work often after maybe 30 minutes.
in other games(live for speed) i does not have this problem.
does someon else has this problems?
i hope my english is easy to unterstand.

please let me know if you need additional information or does not understand everything!

thanks for support

tobias

[EDIT] i use the actually software and also reinstalled track ir and gtr several times!
gtr has also the last patch!

my system:
athlon xp 2400
gf4 ti 4200
thrustmasters ff gt racing wheel
512mb ddr - ram
win xp sp1
NO usb hub
NOTHING overclocked

the blue led (enhanced mode) is still on when it works and when it not works
and if i cover the tracking dot on my nose the green led goes out(opposite from its on)

[ March 07, 2005, 07:33 AM: Message edited by: tobias ]

Barred
Posts: 881
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2003 5:00 am
Location: Scotland

Re: track ir problems in gtr

Post by Barred » Mon Mar 07, 2005 1:36 am

Tobias. do you by any chance have your TIR on the same USB port as your wheel? If so I would sugest moving either the TIR or wheel to a different port that is not on a HUB.

As for your other question can you give me to Friday to check this out as my English verson will be here by then (I am trying not to have to install my German version as the English is so close.)

Give the seperate ports a go and I will see what I can do on Friday. Good luck for now.

tobias
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2005 5:00 am
Location: frankfurt/germany

Re: track ir problems in gtr

Post by tobias » Mon Mar 07, 2005 8:06 pm

hi Barred,

thanks for your reply!
i have both (wheel and trackir) direct on motherboard connected.
do you think it makes sense when i change the port there?
and i also know that i dont have this problems with the old track ir software (3.?? before vector expansion support)
but i did not try the old software again.
and a dont have problems with other games with the new software (lfs, il2)

tobias

Barred
Posts: 881
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2003 5:00 am
Location: Scotland

Re: track ir problems in gtr

Post by Barred » Mon Mar 07, 2005 11:15 pm

Tobias, what version of GTR are you using? I know that Vector did not add 6DOF to GTR on my German version, what it did though is cleaned up the movement a lot.

I would sugest trying a fresh install of the TIR drives. The best way to do it is to unplug the TIR. then the driver via Windows Add/Remove Programs, and then to delete the NaturalPoint folder in C:/Programs.

Reboot and then install the software again, at this point you could tell the installer to install in a different folder (eg instead of NaturalPoint, to TIR or vice versa). Then plug in the TIR when the driver asks for the hardware tobe plugged in.

If you can it would not hurt to try a different USB port for the TIR if you can.

I cant really sugest much else really untill Friday, but hopefully that should help as it really looks like a driver problem or an install problem in GTR. The reason I say that is because if TIR is working properly with out GTR running but when you run GTR, and then you are having problems it might be that GTR is not reading the data from the TIR properly.

If you are running Ver 1.3 of GTR I cannot check that untill Friday afternoon/evening. If the above does not work and you are running GTR 1.3 then I will get back to you on Friday once I have tried the Vector out in it.

tobias
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2005 5:00 am
Location: frankfurt/germany

Re: track ir problems in gtr

Post by tobias » Tue Mar 08, 2005 12:36 am

dear barred,

i do not use vector-expansion in gtr.
what i mean is: i think that i have my problems since i have the new software with vector-support. (Software version 3.xx -> 4.xx)
i do not have the vector expansion kit.
at the moment i use gtr version 1.2.3.
but i will follow your instructions and will remove the tir software complete, reinstall it and use an other port for the tir!

thanks
tobias

tobias
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2005 5:00 am
Location: frankfurt/germany

Re: track ir problems in gtr

Post by tobias » Tue Mar 08, 2005 7:55 pm

thanks barred!!!

i have reinstalled the drivers and choosen an other port on the motherboard and it works!!!
really great!!

thank you very mutch!

tobias

Barred
Posts: 881
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2003 5:00 am
Location: Scotland

Re: track ir problems in gtr

Post by Barred » Tue Mar 08, 2005 9:20 pm

I am glad it worked out for you Tobias.

Enjoy

Post Reply