SmartNav first impressions

Here you can talk about SmartNav and related products and issues not covered by other forums.
kalorvoe

SmartNav first impressions

Post by kalorvoe »

Okay, after nagging you guys for weeks about FPS and a few other things, I finally got a SmartNav 4 in my hot little hands.
First impressions?

Background: I've suffered with tendonitis/RSI/tennis elbow/etc for five years. It's cost me priceless things I'll never get back (like lifting my little children). I haven't been able to stop and let my arms heal or we'd lose our house, so I've had to work with the pain. I've tried all kinds of things that have helped to some degree (the best are ergo keyboards and Workrave resting software), but I am still experiencing pain in whichever arm I use my trackball in.

Review:

The SmartNav IS all it's cracked up to be. I'm a software developer, and if any developers out there are wondering how well they can use it in a dev environment, just drop all your fears. I can easily get the little plus-minus boxes to expand and shrink regions in Visual Studio, and I've only been using the thing a little while. I also use dual monitors and I'm finding the smartnav faster than a trackball (on top of the time saved by not reaching for it).

In spite of neck exercises over the last couple of weeks to prepare, I did experience some stiffness in the neck, but as you'll see elsewhere in these forums, it's a newbie thing. you start out using your head like a joystick, but over time you stop thinking about it and the cursor just seems to go where you want it to. Plus your neck muscles learn to compnsate, I guess.

I'm hitting F12 every few minutes because my centering keeps shifting with use, but I suspect that's a matter of finding the right speed. I'll play with settings until I get it right.