forums.naturalpoint.com

Discussion and Support for the OptiTrack, SmartNav and TrackIR brands by NaturalPoint

Are multiple screens possible?

Here you can talk about SmartNav and related products and issues not covered by other forums.

by paulbfr » Tue Mar 30, 2010 2:23 am

Hi,

I'm new on this forum - like seems many others are, I'm an IT professional who has clocked up to many hours at a computer! I'm considering this SmartNav for my Mac setup - the only thing is I have 2 screens, one 2048(w)x1152(h) pixels and the other 1680(h) x 1050(w). That a lots of pixels to cover by a pointing device with a resolution of 1024 pixels, so would I be right in thinking it wouldn't be possible??

Any help and advice appreciated.

Regards,

- Paul
paulbfr
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2010 2:17 am

by VincentG » Tue Mar 30, 2010 1:30 pm

For the mac version of the software, I would not know; but I run a dual monitor Windows setup here, and the SN works fine with it.
VincentG
 
Posts: 7728
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2006 5:00 am
Location: Corvallis, Oregon

by kalorvoe » Wed Oct 27, 2010 3:03 pm

I'm using it on three huge screens right now. It works fine, but because my screen space covers more than a car windscreen, sometimes the point of my track hat passes out of range of the camera. It just means I have to move the camera back a little, but I have nothing to rest it on so I just deal with it :D
kalorvoe
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2008 7:21 pm

by max1999 » Sat Jan 15, 2011 11:02 pm

Thank you for the info...
max1999
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jan 15, 2011 10:58 pm

by Franck Dernoncourt » Fri Jul 06, 2012 3:11 am

I would like to correct what KalorJoe said.

The range issue he mentioned can be easily solved by placing two reflective dots on your forehead. This trick allows me to use five screens, with total resolution of 5520x1848:

Image

(sorry for posting this picture several times, I don't mean to brag but to convince)
Franck Dernoncourt
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2012 1:48 pm

by NaturalPoint - Mike » Fri Jul 06, 2012 12:14 pm

I actually really like the two dot system, that's thinking outside the box.
NaturalPoint - Mike
 
Posts: 1896
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 8:41 am
Location: Corvallis, OR

by Franck Dernoncourt » Sat Jul 21, 2012 7:46 am

Thanks! SmartNAV is already in its essence thinking outside the box, as epitomized by this comment on StackExchange which received +2 approvals, which was the first comment I received following a question I asked on hands-free mice: "Quite frankly, I would just go with a normal mouse. I mean, why would you wanna move your head or use your mouth or even your feet? " http://productivity.stackexchange.com/q ... free-mouse

In fact we can use more than two reflective dots, I am using three now because
1) increased range obviously,
2) if you place too reflective dots that are too distant, when SmartNAV switches between the two dots it may result in a mouse cursor jump, which can be truly annoying.

photo:
Image

http://img98.imageshack.us/img98/8007/2 ... 132635.jpg
Franck Dernoncourt
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2012 1:48 pm


Return to SmartNAV General

cron