TiR3 degrade with redscreen

Post Reply
JarheadEd
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2005 5:00 am

TiR3 degrade with redscreen

Post by JarheadEd » Thu Oct 11, 2012 10:38 pm

My TrackIR3 with vector has started degrading over the last few days. It starts normally, with the 4 red lights, but the center green is flashing. camera view is red. I have changed nothing with no environment changes in the background to interfere with lighting or reflections.

Screenshot
Image

JarheadEd
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2005 5:00 am

Re: TiR3 degrade with redscreen

Post by JarheadEd » Sat Oct 13, 2012 2:51 pm

So it's back up and running. I ended up doing 2 uninstall/ reinstallations, and did 2 reboots before the last attempt and it came up clean. The first attempt it worked, but was "Jittery" and the camera was showing streaking on the track clip. Either way, I will keep this updated in case it starts going south again.

NaturalPoint - Mike
Posts: 1896
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 8:41 am
Location: Corvallis, OR

Re: TiR3 degrade with redscreen

Post by NaturalPoint - Mike » Mon Oct 15, 2012 5:27 pm

Hmm, is the serial number in the range of 152000 to 152916?

JarheadEd
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2005 5:00 am

Re: TiR3 degrade with redscreen

Post by JarheadEd » Wed Oct 17, 2012 12:27 am

[quote=NaturalPoint - Mike]Hmm, is the serial number in the range of 152000 to 152916? [/quote]

Nope, it is ######. It still seems to be running fine as of today.
Last edited by JarheadEd on Thu Oct 18, 2012 2:41 pm, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: Serial number removed.

NaturalPoint - Mike
Posts: 1896
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 8:41 am
Location: Corvallis, OR

Re: TiR3 degrade with redscreen

Post by NaturalPoint - Mike » Thu Oct 18, 2012 2:41 pm

Sorry, didn't see the TrackIR3 there, the serial range I listed is for the 5's.

At that age, the issue is probably a slowly failing device. It's likely that it will need to be replaced eventually.

JarheadEd
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2005 5:00 am

Re: TiR3 degrade with redscreen

Post by JarheadEd » Thu Oct 18, 2012 9:04 pm

[quote=NaturalPoint - Mike]Sorry, didn't see the TrackIR3 there, the serial range I listed is for the 5's.

At that age, the issue is probably a slowly failing device. It's likely that it will need to be replaced eventually. [/quote]



Tonight

Image

Image

Seth Steiling
Posts: 1366
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2008 11:29 am
Location: Corvallis, Oregon

Re: TiR3 degrade with redscreen

Post by Seth Steiling » Mon Oct 22, 2012 12:19 pm

[quote=JarheadEd][quote=NaturalPoint - Mike]Sorry, didn't see the TrackIR3 there, the serial range I listed is for the 5's.

At that age, the issue is probably a slowly failing device. It's likely that it will need to be replaced eventually. [/quote]



Tonight

Image

Image[/quote]
Yep, that looks like a goner. Sorry, Ed.
Marketing Manager
TrackIR | OptiTrack

JarheadEd
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2005 5:00 am

Re: TiR3 degrade with redscreen

Post by JarheadEd » Thu Aug 29, 2013 9:20 am

Well, it has been almost a year since my last post about the death of my track IR 3. However, much like this thread, it arose from the dead and shambled on. Until today.

This fateful day that it knew was coming. Quite often I would have to try multiple USB unplug/replugs to get it to start. And it would, and it continued working. The ever faithful zombie track IR 3. But it knew,..we all knew, it would come to this.

Three days ago I ordered a TrackIR 5 through Amazon. Today the 5 went out for delivery. I decided to play some ARMA 3 Beta while I waited.

"One last time old friend". I gently double clicked the Vector icon, Ver 5.2.200 booted, but the LED's did not illuminate. "No matter" I thought. "I've seen this before, I'll just unplug it and plug it back, That has always worked"
But not today. Not the first time, nor the second time, nor the fifth or twentieth time. I knew this would happen someday. It's the inevitability off all peripherals.
It is in it's forever off state.

Fare well you glorious bastard! You outlasted everything else PC related I ever owned. You were an epic device. Much like the Highlander, there can be only one. The 5 will be here soon.

R.I.P. TrackIR3 with vector expansion. 2004-2013.


TL:DR TIR3 lasted forever.

Seth Steiling
Posts: 1366
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2008 11:29 am
Location: Corvallis, Oregon

Re: TiR3 degrade with redscreen

Post by Seth Steiling » Tue Sep 03, 2013 9:32 am

JarheadEd wrote:Well, it has been almost a year since my last post about the death of my track IR 3. However, much like this thread, it arose from the dead and shambled on. Until today.

This fateful day that it knew was coming. Quite often I would have to try multiple USB unplug/replugs to get it to start. And it would, and it continued working. The ever faithful zombie track IR 3. But it knew,..we all knew, it would come to this.

Three days ago I ordered a TrackIR 5 through Amazon. Today the 5 went out for delivery. I decided to play some ARMA 3 Beta while I waited.

"One last time old friend". I gently double clicked the Vector icon, Ver 5.2.200 booted, but the LED's did not illuminate. "No matter" I thought. "I've seen this before, I'll just unplug it and plug it back, That has always worked"
But not today. Not the first time, nor the second time, nor the fifth or twentieth time. I knew this would happen someday. It's the inevitability off all peripherals.
It is in it's forever off state.

Fare well you glorious bastard! You outlasted everything else PC related I ever owned. You were an epic device. Much like the Highlander, there can be only one. The 5 will be here soon.

R.I.P. TrackIR3 with vector expansion. 2004-2013.


TL:DR TIR3 lasted forever.
Thanks for the final, hilarious update. Glad to hear that your TIR3 was a fighter to the end. :-)

/slow clap
Marketing Manager
TrackIR | OptiTrack

Post Reply