forums.naturalpoint.com

Discussion and Support for the OptiTrack, SmartNav and TrackIR brands by NaturalPoint

Track IR 3 does not find hardware driver

by Warthog » Sun Jun 10, 2007 12:42 am

Hi,
I have the same problem... impossible instaling drivers.
In the previous PC, the x-keys it was installed and worked without problems.

IntelCore 2 Duo E6600 Dual Core Processor
MB GIGABYTE P35 DQ6 ATX S775
HD MAXTOR 320 GB SATA II
AeroCool ExtremEngine 3T
Logitech G15 Gaming Keyboard
DVD LG 16X
Logitech G5 Laser Mouse
REGR LG GSA-H42N Negra
POINT OF VIEW GEFORCE 8800GTS 640 PCX
2 x 1GB 667MHz DDR2 Non-ECC CL5 DIMM
Be Quiet BQT Straight Power E5-600W
TFT VIEWSONICVA2010W
X-Keys keyboard

thanks!!
Warthog
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2007 12:28 am

by VincentG » Mon Jun 11, 2007 1:07 pm

Could you expand on the issue you are having?
VincentG
 
Posts: 7728
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2006 5:00 am
Location: Corvallis, Oregon

by Echo » Tue Sep 07, 2010 4:50 pm

Hello, I seem to be having this problem also, or a very similar one. I downloaded and installed the software "Version 4.1.037 - Final B." Then I plugged in my TrackIR 3 (not sure if it's regular or Pro; I've lost the box and in fact everything except for the TrackIR itself), and started up the software. The lights never came on. Windows did find an Unknown Device (under Universal Serial Bus Controllers in the Windows Device Manager), but not a driver. I even tried pointing the Windows Hardware Update Wizard to the drivers in C:\Program Files\Naturalpoint\TrackIR 4\Drivers. I also tried to point it to C:\Windows\System32\Drivers. No luck with either. Any leads?
Echo
 

by VincentG » Tue Sep 07, 2010 5:16 pm

please email support with your camera serial number, and issue information.
VincentG
 
Posts: 7728
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2006 5:00 am
Location: Corvallis, Oregon

by Echo » Wed Sep 08, 2010 3:35 pm

I think I found the solution to my problem. It seems to be a hardware issue�the U.S.B. connector is starting to fail, and needs to be perfectly in position in order for the TrackIR to work.

The computer recognizes that a U.S.B. device is plugged in even if it's not plugged in just right, but it only recognizes that it's a TrackIR if the thing's just so.

Anyone else with this issue, I recommend wiggling around the plug a bit (carefully) to see if the TrackIR gets recognized.
Echo
 

by Echo » Sat Sep 11, 2010 6:39 am

... Or if that fails, unplugging and replugging the U.S.B. connector into the computer.
Echo
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Sep 11, 2010 6:37 am

Previous

Return to TrackIR 1-3 & Vector Expansion