Blue error screen!!!!!!!

hornetsting
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2004 5:00 am
Location: the netherlands

Blue error screen!!!!!!!

Post by hornetsting » Thu Sep 02, 2004 9:22 pm

Hello,
I have trackir 3 pro now. Before I
had the trackir 1 version.

I have big problems to install
the v. 3.12 version. During inslallation
i get a blue error screen.

I don`t know what to do now.
I have tried many things and see no solution
now.

Pls help!!!!!!!!1

[ September 03, 2004, 12:14 PM: Message edited by: hornetsting ]

sr71_sr71
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 5:00 am
Location: Kent, UK

Re: Blue error screen!!!!!!!

Post by sr71_sr71 » Thu Sep 02, 2004 9:31 pm

quote:Originally posted by hornetsting:
Hello,
I have trackir 3 pro now. Before I
had the trackir 1 version.

I have big problems to install
the v. 3.12 version. During inslallation
i get a blue error screen.

I don`t know what to do now.
I have tried many thanks and see no solution
now.

Pls help!!!!!!!!1I was just looking over some of my posted questions, and read yours as I just saw it come in.

It might help others, if you try and supply as much details as possible. Operating system and service packs used. At what point the blue screen appears in the install process, and what the error says. What you have tried so far? etc etc...

Hope that helps.

David.

hornetsting
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2004 5:00 am
Location: the netherlands

Re: Blue error screen!!!!!!!

Post by hornetsting » Thu Sep 02, 2004 11:20 pm

ok,

I own the following:

windows xp profesional + serv.pack 1.
processor - amd athlon xp 3.0+
1 ddr ghz ram
radeon 9800pro 128mb videocard
asus a7n8x-x motherboard with nforce 2 chip.

I have unplugged the trackir hardware and just
want to install the 3.12 software.

So installing the software is no problem but
when you plug the trackir usb in and you
get the software search tab.

After the message of no authorisation software found the screen goes blue with
a certain error. The only thing i can do is
restart my pc.

I`m sorry i am at work so i have to answer this way!

[ September 03, 2004, 06:21 AM: Message edited by: hornetsting ]

hornetsting
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2004 5:00 am
Location: the netherlands

Re: Blue error screen!!!!!!!

Post by hornetsting » Fri Sep 03, 2004 3:04 am

Okay,
I am at home now.

Today i have done several attempts
i tell the story.

Firstly i installed the V3.12 over an older
version because i tried with the older
version to work with my old trackir.
(during installation came the ask to remove
ezusbw2k.pnf. So i clicked yes.

This did worked. So my old device works
with the newest software.

Then i connect my trackir3pro with the usb
and the ask came to install the software.

After the little screen with the ask if i install
the software that isn`t signed by microsoft
i reply yes!!!

Then you see that 2 little maps for copying.
And then bang!!! Blue screen.

I wrote down what the error is.

NFUSB.sys-address B138E174
base at B138D000 datestamp 4069FF00

I hope you can help me further.

Thanks in advance
Martin/Holland

hornetsting
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2004 5:00 am
Location: the netherlands

Re: Blue error screen!!!!!!!

Post by hornetsting » Fri Sep 03, 2004 4:33 am

So after serveral tries i think
that my trackir3pro is broken.

In config/system/usb dev. i only
see usb device when i connect
the trackir3pro. When i connect
my trackir2 i see usb naturalpoint dev.

Or maybe someone has an solution!

Wayne
Posts: 891
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2004 5:00 am
Location: Oregon

Re: Blue error screen!!!!!!!

Post by Wayne » Fri Sep 03, 2004 6:18 am

hornetsting,

I think that I understand what your problem may be. Did you have your TrackIR 1 connected through a hub?

Connect your TrackIR3 directly to the motherboard via one of the direct USB ports. If the power requests can not be met through your hub, then this will cause the problem that you describe and will happen during the hardware install routine.

Please let me know if the above solves your problem.

hornetsting
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2004 5:00 am
Location: the netherlands

Re: Blue error screen!!!!!!!

Post by hornetsting » Fri Sep 03, 2004 6:46 am

Wayne,
Thanks for replying.
I do know what you mean.
I do not applying the trackir3pro via
an usb hub.

I do also have a trackir2.
With this apparate i don`t have problems
at all.

hornetsting
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2004 5:00 am
Location: the netherlands

Re: Blue error screen!!!!!!!

Post by hornetsting » Fri Sep 03, 2004 9:39 am

Wayne,
I have just read other messages in the forum
about usb device in your devices manager.
I do also have that problem i think.

And what i am thinking is that people
that putted their details all have an
Asus board.

I also do have an asus board. Couldn`t it be
the 4x motherboard drivers??

I hope that you can help me further!

hornetsting
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2004 5:00 am
Location: the netherlands

Re: Blue error screen!!!!!!!

Post by hornetsting » Sun Sep 05, 2004 5:09 pm

Wayne,
Problems has been solved now.

I thought that the trackir usb cable was
direct connected to my motherboard.
That wasn`t the case i saw.

So i connected the cable directly and saw
usb device in the config screen.
So i disabled it, restarted with the cable inserted and yessss trackir3 was recognized.

Strange track2 could over the hub and 3pro
couldn`t.

Thanks for the time you gave me and
i hope that others have learned something of this.

Wayne
Posts: 891
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2004 5:00 am
Location: Oregon

Re: Blue error screen!!!!!!!

Post by Wayne » Tue Sep 07, 2004 10:46 am

hornetsting,

Great ...Thanks for letting me know.

Post Reply