Setting up 24 FLEX V100 R2's

Seth Steiling
Posts: 1366
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2008 11:29 am
Location: Corvallis, Oregon

Re: Setting up 24 FLEX V100 R2's

Post by Seth Steiling » Wed Oct 24, 2012 1:51 pm

[quote=Ghost_Train]We have the 4.5mm lenses right now. Would it really be worth it to get the 3.5mm lenses for a 24 x 24 setup?
[/quote]
My advice: I would first try out your new setup and see what kind of results you get. If you're satisfied with the volume size, the quality of data will be slightly better with the 4.5mm lenses. If you want to experiment further with larger volumes, you can swap to the 3.5mm at any time.

If you want to stick with the 4.5mm lenses, I might actually try the 12 high and 12 low setup first. With any other OptiTrack camera I prefer all high (in most cases), but the R2's FOV is narrow enough that the tiered setup might produce the largest possible volume.
Marketing Manager
TrackIR | OptiTrack

Ghost_Train
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2012 4:01 pm

Re: Setting up 24 FLEX V100 R2's

Post by Ghost_Train » Fri Mar 29, 2013 1:41 pm

Just following up. We finally got extra poles at the studio and I successfully setup 24 cams (12 at 5ft high, 12 at 10ft high). There is definitely an improvement in quality and capture volume size. Thanks again for helping me figure out what to do.

Seth Steiling
Posts: 1366
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2008 11:29 am
Location: Corvallis, Oregon

Re: Setting up 24 FLEX V100 R2's

Post by Seth Steiling » Mon Apr 01, 2013 4:31 pm

Great! Happy to hear it. :)
Marketing Manager
TrackIR | OptiTrack

Ghost_Train
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2012 4:01 pm

Re: Setting up 24 FLEX V100 R2's

Post by Ghost_Train » Mon Oct 21, 2013 10:33 am

Hello again,

I have to move the mocap area to an 18x20 ft space.
I am still using 24 FLEX V100 R2's and was wondering if you could help me figure out the optimal setup once again.

Seth Steiling
Posts: 1366
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2008 11:29 am
Location: Corvallis, Oregon

Re: Setting up 24 FLEX V100 R2's

Post by Seth Steiling » Mon Oct 21, 2013 10:54 am

Ghost_Train wrote:Hello again,

I have to move the mocap area to an 18x20 ft space.
I am still using 24 FLEX V100 R2's and was wondering if you could help me figure out the optimal setup once again.
You're probably best served to follow essentially the same approach: 12 high, 12 low, with high/low pairs in the corners and the rest spread equidistant across the sides.
Marketing Manager
TrackIR | OptiTrack

Ghost_Train
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2012 4:01 pm

Re: Setting up 24 FLEX V100 R2's

Post by Ghost_Train » Thu May 01, 2014 9:46 am

I did this same setup at the new office we just moved to. I'm having some trouble getting the full aread to capture quality data. I am doing the 12 high, 12 low setup described above. It's a 24 x 24 ft space. Is there a specific angle guideline I should follow.

Right now all cameras are tilted at a 23 degree angle-ish.
I've been trying to experiment with it.
The higher cameras were aimed lower at one point but it was cutting heads off in the data.
I have the 2 sets of cameras on each side point slightly to the center of the floor rather than perpendicular to the walls. The the most part a good amount of area is covered, but there are holes in the capture zone. I just want to maximize the area if possible and could use some tips on how to do that.

I am also uncertain of how much I should change the camera threshold, exposure and intensity.

NaturalPoint-Dustin
Posts: 612
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2013 5:03 pm

Re: Setting up 24 FLEX V100 R2's

Post by NaturalPoint-Dustin » Wed May 07, 2014 10:49 am

I am also uncertain of how much I should change the camera threshold, exposure and intensity.
I would be happy to setup a remote desktop session with you. We can optimize your system and answer all of your questions. Please submit a ticket with us at:

help.naturalpoint.com
Dustin
Technical Support Engineer
OptiTrack | TrackIR | SmartNav

Post Reply