Prime 13 Configuration / Max Capture Space

Post Reply
Highflex
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2018 3:28 am

Prime 13 Configuration / Max Capture Space

Post by Highflex » Wed Mar 13, 2019 5:28 am

Hey there,

I was wondering what the max capture space could be with 16 Prime 13 Cameras?

Ideally i want to capture fast and large movements such as Run Cycles or lots of movement. The default configuration in the build manager says
5 × 5 × 3 meters but i am wondering if you could go higher if you have the space to do so?

Thanks

steven.andrews
NaturalPoint Employee
NaturalPoint Employee
Posts: 504
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2015 11:52 am

Re: Prime 13 Configuration / Max Capture Space

Post by steven.andrews » Wed Mar 13, 2019 11:00 am

Hello Highflex,

The Build Your Own is a good guideline for camera coverage, but can sometimes play it a bit on the conservative side. The max, there, is taking into account the maximum range of the cameras for optimal pixel density. It is possible to do things such as adjusting camera settings and overall setup to push the visibility a little farther.

If you are considering purchasing a system and want to be sure you have the best setup for your space, feel free to reach out to our sales engineers [sales@optitrack.com]. They are a great resource for determine what will offer the best coverage for your needs.

Best,
Steven
--
Steven Andrews
OptiTrack | Senior Customer Support Engineer
help.naturalpoint.com
support@optitrack.com

muraqqi
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun May 26, 2019 6:04 am

Re: Prime 13 Configuration / Max Capture Space

Post by muraqqi » Sun May 26, 2019 6:52 am

Hello. Rather than making new thread, i found this thread is have same topic that i want to ask.

I planning to make motion capture studio. I have an access to 10 by 10 meters room, save for equipment and stuff. Maximum setup area for mocap is 8 by 8 meters. I want to maximize the capture volume to 6 meters for width and depth and 3 meters for height. i also planning to track about 3 people. After searching i found that Prime 13 is capable doing so. But i read that the setup area is 10 by 10, while indeed i have 10 by 10 room, but if stuff and equipment being inside, i calculate the setup area is maybe 8 by 8 meters.

So my question is, do it's still possible to use 8 x 8 setup area to track 6 x 6 x 3 meters capture area and 3 actors with props?

steven.andrews
NaturalPoint Employee
NaturalPoint Employee
Posts: 504
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2015 11:52 am

Re: Prime 13 Configuration / Max Capture Space

Post by steven.andrews » Tue May 28, 2019 12:35 pm

Hi muraqqi,

Generally, the distance between the capture perimeter and the camera perimeter is needed to allow enough overlap in the camera fields of view.
With the smaller perimeter, the area in which you can capture the best data may be reduced.

You can reach out to our sales engineers to see what they would recommend. It is possible one of our wide angle cameras could compensate for the smaller setup area, and provide the desired capture volume.

Best,
Steven
--
Steven Andrews
OptiTrack | Senior Customer Support Engineer
help.naturalpoint.com
support@optitrack.com

Post Reply