Hololens and Optitrack

GaryPerelman

Hololens and Optitrack

Post by GaryPerelman »

Hi,

I'm currently working on a projet in which we combine a Hololens 1 and the Optitrack Trio bar.
I'm not an expert in 3D so my questions may be trivials but at the moment, i can't find a proper solution so i'm posting here in case someone has already encountered the same issue and has already found a solution.
​​​​​
I saw there are plugins to detect some Head Mounted Displays using Optitrack and find their position in Unity but i couldn't find one for the Hololens.
Is this plugin already developped?

Anyway, here is my problem:
The trackbar gives me a 3D base in which objects can be detected (in my case, the Hololens and other objects like a smartphone, physical cubes, etc.). I augmented these objects (including the Hololens) with IR markers and registered them as rigid bodies in Motive (i didn't change the pivot point orientation or position, i juste registered them as rigid bodies).

As UWP apps can't receive the data client stream, i used the motive api and developped a small app getting the position and orientation of detected rigid bodies and sending them on a socket connected to my Hololens.

When i'm starting my app on the Hololens, the unity 3D base is initialized : (0, 0, 0) is at the hololens position and yaw/roll depends on my initial orientation (pitch is not included as the Hololens Up vector depends on gravity, not on initial rotation).

The Optitrack 3d base is right-handed and unity is left-handed.

My goal is to find the position and orientation of the objects detected by Optitrack in Unity.
Something like that:
Inputs : x, y, z, yaw, pitch, roll in Optitrack coordinate system
Some magic calculations
Outputs: x', y', z', yaw', pitch', roll' all in my Unity coordinate system.

Is there an easy way to achieve that?