Page 1 of 1

Syinc with force plate AMTI and Optitrack

Posted: Mon Feb 21, 2011 6:27 am
by isavelar
Good Morning!!!

I have a system of cameras of your company and I also have two AMTI force platforms and would like the ability to synchronize the two systems, the possibility?
I hope the return

Re: Syinc with force plate AMTI and Optitrack

Posted: Tue Feb 22, 2011 4:16 pm
by NaturalPoint - Mike
Possible, yes. However you will be in for some development work. V100R2 cameras can sync via a device we make called the OptiHub. The OptiHub features a sync in and sync out port that allows hardware synchronization to third party devices. Software will be a bit more involved, as we do have an API and several SDKs available, however significant development would be required on your part to integrate properly. We are, however, more than willing to answer questions and help where we can if you decide to do this.

Thanks!

Re: Syinc with force plate AMTI and Optitrack

Posted: Thu Jan 05, 2012 5:09 am
by urbanolu
Hi everyone,

We have two AMTI AccuGait force plates at our gait lab, along with 12 V100R1 cameras and one OptiHub. We have managed to synchronize both systems by using the following procedure:

1. Set both systems (cameras and force plates) to use a 100 Hz sampling frequency.
2. Connect the sync out port of the OptiHub (BNC) to the trigger in port of the AMTI PJB-101 box (RCA).
3. In the AMTI NetForce software, set external source (rising edge) as trigger method.
4. In the Arena software, adjust the camera synchronization settings as follows:
-OptiHub Sync Control: Custom Synchronization.
-Sync Mode: Wired-Sync (R1 cameras lack the OptiSync feature).
-Pulse Type: Recording Level.
-Polarity: Active Low.

As soon as Arena starts recording, the OptiHub will output a constant voltage through the sync out port, which triggers the force capture if the NetForce trigger is armed. Obviously, this does not synchronize every frame, just the capture startup. We have checked the synchronization by attaching a marker to a soft hammer and hitting the plates, then verifying that the force and trajectory peaks coincide in time.

I hope this helps...

Re: Syinc with force plate AMTI and Optitrack

Posted: Sat Apr 12, 2014 7:08 am
by fequalsma21
Thanks @Urbanolu for those settings. I'm using an AMTI OR6-7 series force plate and have purchased an esync to be used with a bank of s250e cameras. In Arena (v.1.800) I seem to keep getting an error message (see attached picture). Any chance you have seen that before?

Thanks,
Jeev