Both 2D and 3D capture

Post Reply
evengi
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2010 6:53 am
Location: Norway

Both 2D and 3D capture

Post by evengi » Tue Oct 11, 2011 12:09 pm

Hi!

Would it be possible to capture 3D motion with Arena and simultaneously capture 2D data from one of the cameras? Like a mix of Arena and the SDK?

If so, one could capture the body movements and get great 3D data, and then get 2D data from a facecam and direct that into a custom Maya facerigg. Getting both body and facecapture simultaneously.

I'm currently using both expression and arena, and I'm a huge fan of your hardware!

Thanks for any advice on this!
Regards
Roger Gihlemoen

bsteagal
Posts: 312
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2005 5:00 am
Location: Albuquerque, New Mexico

Re: Both 2D and 3D capture

Post by bsteagal » Tue Oct 11, 2011 2:01 pm

Hi Evengi

The answer is yes.. I've connected a generic USB webcam, (a logitech 4000.. one of those ball cameras) that appears in arena (and which you specify it to be a scene/av cam) to a headmounted rig and captured facial that as far as I can tell is synched to the capture.

I used a 30ft active USB cable to give me the necessary freedom of movement.. but unless it is VERY steady, you are limited to what types of moves you can make...
Bryan Steagall
Owner
Kidz Korner Studio
OptiTrack Distributor
Mexico, Central and South America
505-615-2410
bryan@kkstudio.us
www.kkstudio.us

evengi
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2010 6:53 am
Location: Norway

Re: Both 2D and 3D capture

Post by evengi » Wed Oct 12, 2011 12:46 am

Very exciting!

As I've understood the s 250 e cameras are wireless. Why not use one of those?

I'll try this out myselves, and build a steady head rig.

Thanks for the answer!
Cheers
Roger Gihlemoen

bsteagal
Posts: 312
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2005 5:00 am
Location: Albuquerque, New Mexico

Re: Both 2D and 3D capture

Post by bsteagal » Wed Oct 12, 2011 7:09 am

Evengi

the s250e cameras are ethernet, not wireless (that would be cool, but the cameras get their power from ethernet and wireless does not have the throughput necessary to run all the cameras together...maybe one day though... ;)

Post your results if you can...

you are welcome!

Bryan
Bryan Steagall
Owner
Kidz Korner Studio
OptiTrack Distributor
Mexico, Central and South America
505-615-2410
bryan@kkstudio.us
www.kkstudio.us

evengi
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2010 6:53 am
Location: Norway

Re: Both 2D and 3D capture

Post by evengi » Wed Oct 12, 2011 2:04 pm

Ah! Of course, I mixed the terms.

You've been very helpful, I'll post my results in a couple of months!
Thanks!

Roger

Satyajit Chakraborty
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2011 10:46 pm

Re: Both 2D and 3D capture

Post by Satyajit Chakraborty » Sun Dec 04, 2011 10:50 pm

Hello there,

I'm trying to do the same. I've made a head rig, and bought V120 slim to be used in place of the webcam. But somehow, the markers are not brightening up in V120 slim video capture.

Does anyone have any idea what's going on.

NaturalPoint - Mike
Posts: 1896
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 8:41 am
Location: Corvallis, OR

Re: Both 2D and 3D capture

Post by NaturalPoint - Mike » Mon Dec 05, 2011 1:47 pm

V120 slim cameras are not equipped with IR LEDs, and thus have no way to illuminate the markers themselves. As the markers are retroreflectors, it is difficult to see IR coming off of another camera on the V120. Additionally, there may be issues with the framerates of the cameras not matching due to the different camera speeds.

The suggested camera to use for reference video is the V100R2-FS, but that may not be ideal for this situation. Perhaps with a bit more information on your setup, we could make a better recommendation?

evengi
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2010 6:53 am
Location: Norway

Re: Both 2D and 3D capture

Post by evengi » Thu Jan 05, 2012 3:55 pm

Hello again.

Bryan, when you say it's possible to track both the body and the face simultaneously, do Arena actually support 2D tracking? Or would I need the SDK, unfortunately I'm not much of a programmer.

(I finally got to buy my own setup and will start testing next month.)

Roger

bsteagal
Posts: 312
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2005 5:00 am
Location: Albuquerque, New Mexico

Re: Both 2D and 3D capture

Post by bsteagal » Thu Jan 05, 2012 4:09 pm

Hi Evengi

No, it only captures the synced video.. which you could then bring into another application for the 2d tracking.. such a Di-o-Matic Maskarad, which could use the video.. or bring it into something like boujou, mocha or something else for 2d motion tracking
Bryan Steagall
Owner
Kidz Korner Studio
OptiTrack Distributor
Mexico, Central and South America
505-615-2410
bryan@kkstudio.us
www.kkstudio.us

Post Reply