use two TrackIR units

Post Reply
MattThomas
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2003 5:00 am
Location: Kansas City

use two TrackIR units

Post by MattThomas » Sun May 23, 2004 12:36 pm

Is it possible to use two TrackIR units and switch between them both with a USB switch?

I want to set up a flight simulator trainer with dual controls and two TrackIRs, one for the Instructor, and one for the Student. When the Instructor is flying, his trackIR and controls are active. The instructor can then push the USB switcher to activate the student's controls and TracKIR. Please see the diagram at http://www.kcsimpilots.com/images/USB_h ... rackIR.jpg

I think this would be possible since version 3.00 that added hot-plug USB support.
Please let me know if this will work, if not please consider it a feature request. Thanks a bunch!!

Jim
NaturalPoint Employee
NaturalPoint Employee
Posts: 1395
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2002 5:00 am
Location: Corvallis, Oregon
Contact:

Re: use two TrackIR units

Post by Jim » Thu May 27, 2004 12:46 pm

Hello:

This is a good idea, nice picture. It might work, just not sure as we haven't tried it. You can now hot plug a TrackIR with 3.0 software and up, so that shouldn't be a problem. Give it a shot and let us know.

MattThomas
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2003 5:00 am
Location: Kansas City

Re: use two TrackIR units

Post by MattThomas » Thu May 27, 2004 2:52 pm

I'll give it a try and post my results.
Matt

Post Reply