My TrackIR 4 Pro has suddently stopped workin

ddocg
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Apr 16, 2006 5:00 am
Location: Scotland

Re: My TrackIR 4 Pro has suddently stopped workin

Post by ddocg » Fri Sep 15, 2006 8:05 am

Hello again, i have previously reported the problem with my TIR4 that being that it suddenly stopped working. I have done the reinstall thing with no luck, software installs ok and windows XP Pro detects hardware when plugged in, however, when i run the software i get a message saying "No device/camera detected".

The solution offered to me was to return my TIR4 and to include the supplied RAM? number (can't recall the correct name).

Now, please excuse my annoyance however, i purchased the goods in good faith and that what i was buying was a fully tested and functional piece of kit, i did not realise i was actually buying the right to be a Beta Tester for NP, who in fact would expect me to have to shell out postage costs to return the unit when the unit stopped working after a couple of months.

As i am loathe to pay return postage costs i assume i will be holding onto my non functional unit.

So as silly as this may seem i would like to know other peoples views on TIR3, has anyone experienced a total malfunction with these units? are they more stable?

As things stand i would rather buy a new TIR 3 than swap over the TIR 4 as there is no information as to what has caused this widespread problem with TIR 4's and whether it has been rectified.

So your reccomendations please as to whether the 3 would be a better buy than a 4 ?

Disappointed

d

VincentG
Posts: 7728
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2006 5:00 am
Location: Corvallis, Oregon

Re: My TrackIR 4 Pro has suddently stopped workin

Post by VincentG » Fri Sep 15, 2006 9:07 am

Dear ddocg,

I'm sorry to hear about the issues you had with the TrackIR 4. Unfortunately sometimes hardware just fails, and needs to be replaced. You purchased a fully tested and functioning unit, and we try to send the best product we can to the customer. After troubleshooting the issue, the previous technician determined that the hardware had failed, and needed to be replaced. It is covered by a 1 year warranty, and we are more than happy to get the unit replaced for you. We would recommend contacting the reseller that sold you the device, eDimensional, as they have offices located in the UK and should be able to get it replaced for you very easily.

If you have anymore questions, or if I can help in anyway, feel free to contact me at the email address below.

g7usl
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2005 5:00 am
Location: Torquay, Devon

Re: My TrackIR 4 Pro has suddently stopped workin

Post by g7usl » Sat Sep 16, 2006 5:12 am

Wayne,

This problem crops up on a regular basis. 'No Device Detected'

This is what I do.

I disconnect the camera first (I have mine now connected to a flexible extension lead) it's connected to the motherboard.

Then, I plug it in again. After around 5 seconds the camera lights up and registers on the software main screen.

I believe that TrackIR4 does not like long periods of inactivity and goes into 'sleep' mode disabling the device.

For those who are despairing please try this before you decide to return the unit?

Post Reply