TIR4 software will not run

Post Reply
g7usl
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2005 5:00 am
Location: Torquay, Devon

TIR4 software will not run

Post by g7usl » Wed May 11, 2011 10:14 am

I am using TIR5 software and have just purchased a new Trackir4. My second one.

The latest Trackir 4 software dosen't work on my XPpro. The Trackir 5 software does.

I prefer to run trackir 4 software in FS9, why doesn't it work please?

NaturalPoint - Mike
Posts: 1896
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 8:41 am
Location: Corvallis, OR

Re: TIR4 software will not run

Post by NaturalPoint - Mike » Wed May 11, 2011 1:29 pm

What seems to be the issue with the TrackIR 4 software? How is it behaving?

g7usl
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2005 5:00 am
Location: Torquay, Devon

Re: TIR4 software will not run

Post by g7usl » Thu May 12, 2011 1:21 am

Hello Mike, It just dosen't load when clicking on the shortcut.

I even tried right clicking to 'open'. Still nothing. I am wondering if the trackir 5 software has overcome it?

NaturalPoint - Mike
Posts: 1896
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 8:41 am
Location: Corvallis, OR

Re: TIR4 software will not run

Post by NaturalPoint - Mike » Thu May 12, 2011 4:40 pm

TrackIR 4 and TrackIR 5 software suites both can operate side by side with no conflict between the two if they are not running at the same time, so there should be no issue with one overwriting the other. Is there any particular reason you prefer the TrackIR 4 software? If it's because of a particular profile, they can be imported into TrackIR 5 by copying them into the TrackIR 5 profiles directory, then running TrackIR 5. Otherwise, it may be helpful to uninstall and reinstall the TrackIR 4 software to ensure that it is not in some way corrupted.

g7usl
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2005 5:00 am
Location: Torquay, Devon

Re: TIR4 software will not run

Post by g7usl » Fri May 13, 2011 7:30 am

Mike, I have been using the Trackir 4 software for ages. I know all about profiles etc. and where they go. It has never given me any problem but for the last.

I do use the '5' software for FSX as it is all tied in with EZCA.
However, the '5' software is still not without faults. the biggest being the external view which people don't want to move with head movements, we have the 'top hat' for that purpose. In my mind the '4' software is better for FS9 as it was designed for it.

I am also unable to remove Trackir 4 in the files, so whatever is causing the bug, is hiding within, I suspect.

g7usl
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2005 5:00 am
Location: Torquay, Devon

Re: TIR4 software will not run

Post by g7usl » Fri May 13, 2011 3:48 pm

sorted

NaturalPoint - Mike
Posts: 1896
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 8:41 am
Location: Corvallis, OR

Re: TIR4 software will not run

Post by NaturalPoint - Mike » Fri May 13, 2011 4:21 pm

What exactly do you mean by "unable to remove TrackIR 4 in the files"? Are you having issues with the windows uninstaller or a manual delete?

Post Reply