America's Army

cd_albert
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2006 5:00 am
Location: NY

America's Army

Post by cd_albert » Wed Oct 03, 2007 1:23 pm

Hi,

Have been using SmartNav for quite a while but not TrackIR.

How do I get TIR to work in AA? There does not seem to be any options to turn it on. I have severe RSI and would like to use it as the mouse.

Version 4.1 Build 30
AA 2.8.2

America's Army is highlighted in the game list when the game is running.

I think I'm being a bit thick...have seen Bobby...I can't get it to work...do you have to get the game into 'windowed mode'? If so how do you do it with Vista...again, sorry for being slow.

Thanks, Chris.

VincentG
Posts: 7728
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2006 5:00 am
Location: Corvallis, Oregon

Re: America's Army

Post by VincentG » Wed Oct 03, 2007 1:33 pm

The SmartNAV should be supported, within the game, as a mouse replacement device.

As for TrackIR support. The application currently only allows you to move the view, with the TrackIR, within the vehicles.

cd_albert
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2006 5:00 am
Location: NY

Re: America's Army

Post by cd_albert » Wed Oct 03, 2007 2:36 pm

Am I doing something stupid Vincent?

I've tried in AA...in windowed and full screen mode..no joy.

Also, how does Bobby get CounterStrike to work? It responds to the SmartNav? Tried HALO and it won't work either.

How does SmartNav work in most games instead of the mouse?
Trying to download CS now, but 'Steam' is giving me trouble.

Would LOVE to get this working.

cd_albert
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2006 5:00 am
Location: NY

Re: America's Army

Post by cd_albert » Wed Oct 03, 2007 2:42 pm

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHH!!!!!

I use the SM in Absolute mode! It only works in relative mode!!

BUT, I have mapped to the function switches (2 foot peddles):

right click = Forward
Left click = Back

however when I hold down the foot pedal the view jumps around, and also with the right pedal...this makes moving imposible...pressing the buttons on the actual mouse does not cause this problem. When holding the pedal down no problem, but if you release, look around and then push down again it jumps to a new angle.

VincentG
Posts: 7728
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2006 5:00 am
Location: Corvallis, Oregon

Re: America's Army

Post by VincentG » Wed Oct 03, 2007 3:40 pm

Are you using a USB foot switch, or are they plugged directly into the SmartNAV?

cd_albert
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2006 5:00 am
Location: NY

Re: America's Army

Post by cd_albert » Wed Oct 03, 2007 3:59 pm

directly into the SN

VincentG
Posts: 7728
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2006 5:00 am
Location: Corvallis, Oregon

Re: America's Army

Post by VincentG » Wed Oct 03, 2007 5:16 pm

Which version of the SmartNAV software are you using?

cd_albert
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2006 5:00 am
Location: NY

Re: America's Army

Post by cd_albert » Wed Oct 03, 2007 5:26 pm

Version 3.2 Build 30

cd_albert
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2006 5:00 am
Location: NY

Re: America's Army

Post by cd_albert » Thu Oct 04, 2007 11:39 am

Further investigation...with a USB foot pedal by Savant the problem does not occur...is it the way SN interperates a mouse button hit from a connected device?

Just to clarify I actually use 2 different mobility switches...not foot pedals with the SN...I thought it was easier to explain...They are from www.enablingdevices.com

I use the mobility switches as the foot pedals after an hour or two give me sore knees...

if you can sort this out it would be fantastic, or I would so like to start gaming again!

VincentG
Posts: 7728
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2006 5:00 am
Location: Corvallis, Oregon

Re: America's Army

Post by VincentG » Thu Oct 04, 2007 12:11 pm

For testing, does this also occur, when using the hotkey/keyboard shortcuts?

Post Reply