trackir4 working but...

Dazz
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2008 5:50 am

trackir4 working but...

Post by Dazz » Fri Apr 04, 2008 6:03 am

i cant get the mouse emulation to work on CoD4
CoD4 does have the mouse look option which i have turned on

i have 2 led's working a blue and a yellow
the programs all work,with heads and gauges moving as i move my head
the mouse emulator works when its in focus on screen
just not when i have CoD4 running

help please

VincentG
Posts: 7728
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2006 5:00 am
Location: Corvallis, Oregon

Re: trackir4 working but...

Post by VincentG » Fri Apr 04, 2008 11:16 am

Correct, we have seen an issue with both the TrackIR, and SmartNAV, within COD4. It is something that we are looking into........

Dazz
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2008 5:50 am

Re: trackir4 working but...

Post by Dazz » Mon Apr 07, 2008 10:50 am

ok but until then how about looking into an outside program we could use?
i have seen programs that use webcams and IR's to do head tracking....are there any compatible programs for TrackIR??

VincentG
Posts: 7728
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2006 5:00 am
Location: Corvallis, Oregon

Re: trackir4 working but...

Post by VincentG » Mon Apr 07, 2008 12:14 pm

The application you maybe refering to, is using pirated TrackIR software code......

Dazz
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2008 5:50 am

Re: trackir4 working but...

Post by Dazz » Tue Apr 08, 2008 10:16 am

to be honest i have no idea....however they can still get the code working with a webcam,so there must be some way of getting the proper hardware working as an emulator,which leads me back to a question....

direct question,please give me a direct answer
[bearing in mind i have read that the issue with CoD4 is being looked into]

Q:do you,or any other person at natural point,have any ideas of any outside programs that us people,that have bought your hardware fairly and properly,to use in the meantime??

VincentG
Posts: 7728
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2006 5:00 am
Location: Corvallis, Oregon

Re: trackir4 working but...

Post by VincentG » Tue Apr 08, 2008 11:22 am

In conjuntion with the application like COD? No I am not aware of any applications.

The issues with COD4 -

1 - It has no build in TrackIR support

2 - It seems to be using its own mouse interface with the computer system (in game), which prevents the DirectX mouse emulator of the TrackIR from working at all; and the SmartNAV software to work fine within the menus, but jumps around, view wise, within the gaming application itself.

Dazz
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2008 5:50 am

Re: trackir4 working but...

Post by Dazz » Tue Apr 08, 2008 1:52 pm

okecokee

looks like i'm going to have to sell it on ebay then :(

thank you for the answers

acewing
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun May 27, 2007 10:34 pm

Re: trackir4 working but...

Post by acewing » Fri Apr 18, 2008 9:00 pm

[quote=NaturalPoint - Vincent]The application you maybe refering to, is using pirated TrackIR software code...... [/quote]

GlovePIE can read and write TrackIR data... does that mean it is using pirated code?

VincentG
Posts: 7728
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2006 5:00 am
Location: Corvallis, Oregon

Re: trackir4 working but...

Post by VincentG » Mon Apr 21, 2008 10:52 am

If any application is accessing the TrackIR code built into gaming applications, and is not NaturalPoint software, then it would be using copyrighted material.

acewing
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun May 27, 2007 10:34 pm

Re: trackir4 working but...

Post by acewing » Mon Apr 21, 2008 8:43 pm

So when I use GlovePIE with my TrackIR4 I'm breaking the law? :(

Locked