TrackClip project

gpbarth
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2015 1:16 pm
Location: NE Pennsylvania

Re: TrackClip project

Post by gpbarth » Tue May 05, 2015 9:55 am

Reading the threads up here, I have noticed the problem (?) of sensitivity with the TrackClip Pro as compared with the TrackClip, and I think my hat solves that problem. Using both, the hat does seem to make movements smoother. It is annoying to have the view continually move.

I have also set up the pause feature with a mouse button (I have an Anker gaming mouse), and can pause the camera when needed. That works fine.

MikeWitham
NaturalPoint Employee
NaturalPoint Employee
Posts: 1477
Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2013 10:19 am

Re: TrackClip project

Post by MikeWitham » Thu May 07, 2015 12:20 pm

gpbarth,

Having the pause and center key readily available is always nice. I'm glad that the hat solution you made is working well for you.

Regards,
Mike Witham
TrackIR Product Manager

gpbarth
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2015 1:16 pm
Location: NE Pennsylvania

Re: TrackClip project

Post by gpbarth » Thu May 07, 2015 8:54 pm

Mike, any progress on being able to turn off the on-board LEDs yet?

MikeWitham
NaturalPoint Employee
NaturalPoint Employee
Posts: 1477
Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2013 10:19 am

Re: TrackClip project

Post by MikeWitham » Mon May 11, 2015 12:30 pm

gpbarth,

I haven't located a way to do it. I am reaching out to my Devs, but it may not be possible for an end user. I'll let you know what I find out.

Regards,
Mike Witham
TrackIR Product Manager

gpbarth
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2015 1:16 pm
Location: NE Pennsylvania

Re: TrackClip project

Post by gpbarth » Mon May 11, 2015 8:04 pm

Appreciate it, Mike. It might just be me, but it seems that the 3-point horizontal cap set-up works better than the vertical.

I'll be waiting for your findings.

Sporg
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue May 26, 2015 8:20 am

Re: TrackClip project

Post by Sporg » Tue Jun 02, 2015 6:51 am

As far as I know, you can switch off the onboard LEDs from the software:
Go into the "Camera" tab and set IR Brigtness to "0".

Then you can increase your Light Filter Threshold also.
For the TrackClip Pro setting, the default value is 240.
This should reduce the influence of other light in the room, if needed.

MikeWitham
NaturalPoint Employee
NaturalPoint Employee
Posts: 1477
Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2013 10:19 am

Re: TrackClip project

Post by MikeWitham » Tue Jun 02, 2015 12:36 pm

Sporg,

When the TrackClip is selected you can only adjust from 10-15 on the LED brightness.

Regards,
Mike Witham
TrackIR Product Manager

gpbarth
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2015 1:16 pm
Location: NE Pennsylvania

Re: TrackClip project

Post by gpbarth » Tue Jun 02, 2015 1:52 pm

I am attempting to turn the on-board LEDs off for one major reason: to prevent current drain produced by powering the 4 LEDs, and the resultant heat produced by the LED power. More than one person has told me that there IS a heat build-up when using those LEDs. And that could lead to an early failure of the device. Less strain, more life.

I also have the hat I built that has its own LEDs (same lay-out as the Track Clip), powered by a battery pack. It appears to work very well - replacing the reflectors with the LEDs gives the receiver a better signal that isn't affected by turning my head sideways.

I am still using the Track Clip Pro most of the time, but IMNSHO, the 3-LED horizontal lay-out, with the receiver in the center of the monitor, works better than the Pro vertical lay-out with the receiver to the left side of the monitor. Just my preference, but I'd still like to turn off those on-board LEDs and turn off that power drain and consequent heat.

gpbarth
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2015 1:16 pm
Location: NE Pennsylvania

Re: TrackClip project

Post by gpbarth » Thu Jun 04, 2015 7:48 am

So mike, how are you turning off those LEDs when selecting the Track Clip Pro? If they can be turned off by software, there has to be a way to alter the INI file, like you had previously proposed. I looked at the INI file and did find that the line with the LEDs turned to '0' when the Pro was selected, so I'm wondering why editing the file manually doesn't do the same thing.

Sporg
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue May 26, 2015 8:20 am

Re: TrackClip project

Post by Sporg » Fri Jun 05, 2015 1:31 am

Sorry, I thought you could switch off the LEDs in both modes.

Just a quick question: Have you tried using the hat with LEDs with he Pro Clip setting?
Isn't that possible?

Post Reply