Arena runtime error when streaming

heath789
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2011 7:42 am

Arena runtime error when streaming

Post by heath789 » Tue May 22, 2012 1:49 pm

I am getting a runtime error when I leave Arena streaming for a length of time (usually more than an hour). I am sending the data to Matlab and letting Arena stream in the background to get the data.

Is this a known issue or does anyone have any suggestions on how to go about solving the issue?

Using Arena 1.7.2 on Windows 7 64bit, streaming via multicast

Full text of error message:

Title: Microsoft Visual C++ Runtime Library

Body: Runtime Error!
Program: C:\Program Files (x86)\NaturalPoint\Arena\Arena.exe
This application has requested the Runtime to terminate it in an unusual way.
Please contact the application's support team for more information.

NaturalPoint - Mike
Posts: 1896
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 8:41 am
Location: Corvallis, OR

Re: Arena runtime error when streaming

Post by NaturalPoint - Mike » Tue May 22, 2012 4:19 pm

Hello -

Is arena recording at the same time or is the stream live?

Does it stop at a particular frame number or length every time?

heath789
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2011 7:42 am

Re: Arena runtime error when streaming

Post by heath789 » Wed May 23, 2012 6:18 am

Mike,

Arena is not recording at the time, simply streaming (preview mode? I'm not sure what that is officially called).

The frame numbers are not consistent, but the times have all been over 6000 sec when this occurs.

Thanks!

NaturalPoint - Mike
Posts: 1896
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 8:41 am
Location: Corvallis, OR

Re: Arena runtime error when streaming

Post by NaturalPoint - Mike » Wed May 23, 2012 10:39 am

Are objects in view of arena (markers being tracked and streamed) at the time of the crash?

heath789
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2011 7:42 am

Re: Arena runtime error when streaming

Post by heath789 » Wed May 23, 2012 2:51 pm

Yes, there are 3 rigid bodies and they are constantly in the frame; in fact they are motionless for the most part (including when it crashes). We are doing some testing so they are not on a person at the moment.

NaturalPoint - Mike
Posts: 1896
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 8:41 am
Location: Corvallis, OR

Re: Arena runtime error when streaming

Post by NaturalPoint - Mike » Wed May 23, 2012 3:35 pm

Do you see crashes if you just stream a single rigid body?

How many markers are on each rigid body?

heath789
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2011 7:42 am

Re: Arena runtime error when streaming

Post by heath789 » Thu May 24, 2012 11:51 am

I'll test the single rigid body, we've only ever done extended streaming with 3 rigid bodies.

As for the marker count, two of the RBs have 3 markers, and the other RB has 4 markers.

NaturalPoint - Mike
Posts: 1896
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 8:41 am
Location: Corvallis, OR

Re: Arena runtime error when streaming

Post by NaturalPoint - Mike » Thu May 24, 2012 1:54 pm

Fantastic, i'd like to try to reproduce this over here, I just need some more information before I start. Crashing with a single rigid body would definately be a good peice of info to go on.

How large are the rigid bodies? Are they similarly shaped?

heath789
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2011 7:42 am

Re: Arena runtime error when streaming

Post by heath789 » Fri May 25, 2012 7:16 am

Two of the rigid bodies are similar to the pelvis and thorax from the standard skeleton in Arena, and the third is a bit larger right triangle (approx 300 x 200 mm on the two sides).

heath789
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2011 7:42 am

Re: Arena runtime error when streaming

Post by heath789 » Fri May 25, 2012 10:46 am

I left it for a while and it did not crash with one rigid body.

I tried again with my 3 rigid bodies and it crashed about an hour into streaming. I just noticed there is also a window that pops up in Arena that just says "Out of memory."

Post Reply