Sign language on the theater stage

Post Reply
evengi
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2010 6:53 am
Location: Norway

Sign language on the theater stage

Post by evengi » Thu Oct 25, 2012 4:14 am

Hi!

For some time now,I`ve worked with a theater for deaf people. They challenged me a to create animals talking in sign language.
According to the theater it`s not been done before.

So a fun task and challenge.
I used 18 v100R2 cameras along with a helmet I created.
The helmet has go-pro camera aiming at the face.
In addition I used wireless mocap glowes, but the result was so bad I had to rely on rotomation for the fingers.

A huge challenge was the different proportions of the actor and the animated characters. The position of your hand in context to your face plays a important role in sign language.
So it was a great relief when the deaf people understood what the characters said. (althoug I don`t)

Regards
Roger Gihlemoen
Norway

A video of som pre-work and samples of finished animation:
https://vimeo.com/52144918

Some shots from production:
[img:center]http://www.evengi.no/delt/Poster/Mocap/Hanging.jpg[/img]

[img:center]http://www.evengi.no/delt/Poster/Mocap/TheVolume.JPG[/img]

Seth Steiling
Posts: 1366
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2008 11:29 am
Location: Corvallis, Oregon

Re: Sign language on the theater stage

Post by Seth Steiling » Thu Oct 25, 2012 9:12 am

Great work, Roger. Thanks for posting. :)
Marketing Manager
TrackIR | OptiTrack

DonBurroni
Posts: 127
Joined: Thu May 27, 2010 2:26 am
Location: Manchester, UK

Re: Sign language on the theater stage

Post by DonBurroni » Mon Oct 29, 2012 6:40 am

Great stuff how are you tracking the face, (what tracking software)
5DT gloves are the worst thing ever,
Top work keep it up Roger!

evengi
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2010 6:53 am
Location: Norway

Re: Sign language on the theater stage

Post by evengi » Mon Oct 29, 2012 1:22 pm

Hi.

50fps is tracking rather well with syntheyes. Then export 2D data from syntheyes to Maya.

I made some simple driven keys and measure tools in maya to make the 2D data, behave as 3D.

Give it at try! ;)

Post Reply