Optimum workflow?

therasoft

Optimum workflow?

Post by therasoft »

Excuse me if this has been posted before as I tried to look through all the related posts.

Here is what I am understanding.
DAZ plugin is in development
Poser has bvh import capabilities but can be finiky ( bvh files cannot be exported for rigid bodies)
Expression motion caputure software is coming.
Hands are not available but being worked on.

I currently own poser, and daz. I have contemplated purchasing a 3d package like 3d studio max, or maya, or motion builder.

It appears as if there is a 3d studio max plugin, and motion builder has been used.

I am new to motion capture. I am interested in making a short film and reducing hand keying time. But I don't want to invest in the wrong 3d package.

I do not own a system so this is the workflow I imagine. Tell me where I am wrong please.

1. Set up in a 20x20 room with 8 cameras minimum for 2 actors, 12 to 16 is best. Gives a 10x 10 space.
2. Requires 2 capture suits of correct actor height, 2 sets of tracking balls, softer if actor may be on the floor.
3. Calibrate and capture full body performance based on storyboard with blocking.
4. export in bvh in poser pro at 24-30 FPS
QUESTION: HOW DOES POSER DEAL WITH TWO ACTORS?
5. Insert animation layers for hands and hand key
6. When facial tracking software is out, either buy more cameras or deconstruct full body camera set up, and go to facial tracking set up with 6 cameras.
7. capture performance of expressions with audio
QUESTION: WOULD YOU NOT CAPTURE THE NECK MOTION SINCE IT HAS BEEN CAPTURED IN FULL BODY MOVEMENT?
8. Import the bvh file to poser
QUESTION: CAN POSER HAVE 2 BVH FILES APPLIED TO A CHARACTER ( I.E. FACE AND FULL BODY?)
9. New layer of facial animation, uncheck facial animation generation, but apply audio to capture phenomes
10. All the while adjusting keyframes that are bogus.
QUESTION: HOW DO YOU HANDLE A RIGID BODY IN POSER.
11. Network render