import 3d model into arena?

aruncarlos
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2008 7:46 pm

import 3d model into arena?

Post by aruncarlos » Sun Nov 02, 2008 5:43 pm

from some of optitrack video demos that available from your site and youtube, like this one http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2fHq4ycQPng i noticed that the movement of the character are smooth. currently i'm using motionbuilder to capture the data realtime BUT i'm not satisfied with the realtime data that i have. the motion in motionbuilder is not as smooth as the skeleton in arena. i'm using dell precision t5400 quadcore cpu with 4gb of ram and windows XP 64 bit OS for motionbuilder.

my question are :

1. How can i solve the problem?

2. how can i setup or import any 3d model into my arena scene? is it available in the current release of arena software?

tq

VincentG
Posts: 7728
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2006 5:00 am
Location: Corvallis, Oregon

Re: import 3d model into arena?

Post by VincentG » Mon Nov 03, 2008 4:24 pm

So the software is smooth within the Arena software, but is jerky, within MB, when streaming the data?

How many cameras are you using?

How is your capture volume setup?

Are both applications running on the same system, at the same time?

tvining
Posts: 126
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 10:24 am

Re: import 3d model into arena?

Post by tvining » Mon Nov 03, 2008 8:17 pm

I find a similar problem when I export a bvh from Arena and import into Poser: the movements look really good/smooth in Arena, but the resulting bvh, once I import it, is a bit noisy.

aruncarlos
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2008 7:46 pm

Re: import 3d model into arena?

Post by aruncarlos » Tue Nov 04, 2008 10:09 pm

vincent,

yup, a bit jerky in MB..

i'm using 18 cameras with 10' x 10' volume setup.

Both applications running on different system
arena on XP 32 bit while MB on XP 64 bit..

VincentG
Posts: 7728
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2006 5:00 am
Location: Corvallis, Oregon

Re: import 3d model into arena?

Post by VincentG » Wed Nov 05, 2008 11:25 am

Any particular part that seems to be erratic (hands, feet, head, etc.)?

Can you send my copies of your calibration, t-pose, skeleton, pt2, and some pt3 files?

aruncarlos
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2008 7:46 pm

Re: import 3d model into arena?

Post by aruncarlos » Thu Nov 06, 2008 12:17 am

it's not that the markers in MB jerky . it's the 3d model that we imported into MB scene.
i'll email u data that u need later.

by the way, u still didnt answer my second question.

that is, can we import any 3d model into arena?

VincentG
Posts: 7728
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2006 5:00 am
Location: Corvallis, Oregon

Re: import 3d model into arena?

Post by VincentG » Thu Nov 06, 2008 12:46 pm

Currently you can't import a model into Arena

Jim
NaturalPoint Employee
NaturalPoint Employee
Posts: 1395
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2002 5:00 am
Location: Corvallis, Oregon
Contact:

Re: import 3d model into arena?

Post by Jim » Sat Nov 08, 2008 11:37 pm

Hello:

The feature you are seeing is a .X file imported into Arena and we are applying the Actor motion to that Character. It is important to note that it is not retargeting the motion, so if the Character does not match the Actor, the feet will slide.

This feature is in Arena, but undocumented. We can post a how-to video if you are interesed.

Data might not be as smooth in real time in MB, how is it after you have your finished product?

For BVH in Poser, we are aware of this issue, it is the BVH importer in Poser. We are trying to make them aware of this problem. Several users have contacted them, one more would not hurt! :)

andygraph
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2008 3:25 am

Re: import 3d model into arena?

Post by andygraph » Sun Nov 09, 2008 8:55 am

i'm interesting ;-)

aruncarlos
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2008 7:46 pm

Re: import 3d model into arena?

Post by aruncarlos » Tue Nov 11, 2008 6:12 pm

hi Jim..

yup..i'm interested to see that video..will wait for that.

u're right jim..all of finished product or BVH files that captured are fine. I think maybe it's a MB thing....will run some further testing for streaming realtime data into MB..

Post Reply