forums.naturalpoint.com

Discussion and Support for the OptiTrack, SmartNav and TrackIR brands by NaturalPoint

3D Studio Max plugin now available

by Birch » Thu Nov 20, 2008 5:23 pm

The Arena plugin for real-time streaming and recording in 3D Studio Max is now available for download. We look forward to your feedback and hope you enjoy using it.

Please post feedback in this thread

* Arena/Expression 1.4 Beta is required for recording

Supported Versions of 3D Studio max
* 3D Studio Max 5
* 3D Studio Max 9
* 3D Studio Max 2009
* (please contact us if you are interested in having other versions of 3D Studio Max supported)


The plugin can be found on the downloads section of the OptiTrack website under "ARENA / Expression Plugins".
http://www.naturalpoint.com/optitrack/s ... loads.html

A tutorial video is available on our website as well.
http://www.naturalpoint.com/optitrack/p ... ideos.html
Birch
NaturalPoint Employee
NaturalPoint Employee
 
Posts: 1140
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2003 5:00 am
Location: Corvallis, Oregon

by rock soderstrom » Fri Nov 21, 2008 9:52 am

The plugin works so far without problems, we use MAX 2009. Thanks!!! :)
rock soderstrom
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Jun 20, 2008 12:01 am

by bsteagal » Mon Nov 24, 2008 5:38 pm

I have some questions regarding the plugin,

I'm using 3ds max 2008, with the max 9 version of the plugin.. after initializing the biped and clicking play in Arena.. my biped hovers what would be several feet above the floor in max and the xy and z movements are greatly exaggerated.

I had to scale z movement down to 0 and even then the movement was not correct. On the x and y axis, I had to scale back to about 35-40%

Any ideas? My thought is because there is not a 2008 specific version of the plugin.. any chance this could be created?

thanks!

Bryan Steagall
Bryan Steagall
Owner
Kidz Korner Studio
OptiTrack Distributor
Mexico, Central and South America
505-615-2410
bryan@kkstudio.us
www.kkstudio.us
bsteagal
 
Posts: 300
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2005 5:00 am
Location: Albuquerque, New Mexico

by yoshi » Mon Nov 24, 2008 5:50 pm

Have you tried adjusting Translation value in the plugin? Translation value scales biped position where as Offset value adds/subtracts offset distance to the biped position.

If the problem persists, can you send us a screen capture video of the problem?
yoshi
 
Posts: 174
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 5:00 am
Location: silicon valley

by bsteagal » Mon Nov 24, 2008 8:24 pm

Yoshi...

That is actually what I was adjusting, not the offset.. Below the offset settings, you have the xy and z % adjustment... this is where I was setting z to 0% and xy to about 35%

I'll try to capture a video and post...

thanks!
Bryan Steagall
Owner
Kidz Korner Studio
OptiTrack Distributor
Mexico, Central and South America
505-615-2410
bryan@kkstudio.us
www.kkstudio.us
bsteagal
 
Posts: 300
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2005 5:00 am
Location: Albuquerque, New Mexico

by ssshab » Tue Nov 25, 2008 4:48 am

I am experiencing the same problem as Bryan describes. Could you please build a 2008 version of the plugin. Probably, we are getting such problems as we are using Max9's plugin in 2008 version.
ssshab
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2008 12:34 am

by farstar » Mon Jan 19, 2009 12:30 am

Hello I am new here and am considering purchasing optitrac arena. I do have a question about the Max plug in. does this plug in only work with biped rigs or can you use any type of rig such as CAT 3?
also did the formentioned issues on this thread that artists were talking about get resolved and all is working correctly?
farstar
 
Posts: 140
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 12:26 am

by VincentG » Mon Jan 19, 2009 11:15 am

Currently the skeletons are predefind, within the Arena software. We are looking at adding custom skeletons, in a future version of the software, but there is no timeline for it.
VincentG
 
Posts: 7728
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2006 5:00 am
Location: Corvallis, Oregon

by farstar » Mon Jan 19, 2009 2:14 pm

Thanks for the fast response to my question but to be clear on this I am understanding that the Max biped rig as shown in your demo tutorial is currently the only rig your data can be applied to through the plug in? I do not see this being a problem what so ever I will just constrain my custom rigs and cat rigs to the biped rig.
farstar
 
Posts: 140
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 12:26 am

by VincentG » Mon Jan 19, 2009 3:02 pm

Correct.
VincentG
 
Posts: 7728
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2006 5:00 am
Location: Corvallis, Oregon

Next

Return to ARENA & Expression