forums.naturalpoint.com

Discussion and Support for the OptiTrack, SmartNav and TrackIR brands by NaturalPoint

3D Studio Max plugin now available

by bsteagal » Tue Nov 02, 2010 4:50 pm

Hi Vince,

Nope.. max 2008, the version after max 9 and before max 2009.. *snicker*.. no seriously, there was actually a folder for max 2008 in the plugins...
Bryan Steagall
Owner
Kidz Korner Studio
OptiTrack Distributor
Mexico, Central and South America
505-615-2410
bryan@kkstudio.us
www.kkstudio.us
bsteagal
 
Posts: 301
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2005 5:00 am
Location: Albuquerque, New Mexico

by yoshi » Tue Nov 02, 2010 11:49 pm

Bryan,
Can you try "Skeleton as Rigid Bodies" checkbox?
yoshi
 
Posts: 174
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 5:00 am
Location: silicon valley

by bsteagal » Thu Nov 04, 2010 7:20 am

Yoshi

That worked! thank you very much! Now, just a quick question, what does "Root bone index" do?


thanks again!

Bryan
Bryan Steagall
Owner
Kidz Korner Studio
OptiTrack Distributor
Mexico, Central and South America
505-615-2410
bryan@kkstudio.us
www.kkstudio.us
bsteagal
 
Posts: 301
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2005 5:00 am
Location: Albuquerque, New Mexico

by LeonLoire » Tue Nov 16, 2010 4:05 am

Hi there!
I'm Having some problems with the 3ds max plugin right now.
At my university we have this set of cameras from naturalpoint and it's sofware and all it's kind of old (it's version 1.1.304) and we're trying to make it work with 3ds amx so we can apply the recorded data in arena to a biped in 3ds max 2009 (64btis).

we intalled motion builder 64bits and all and have placed the plugin in 3ds max plugin folder it launches and conectecs to arena succesfully though when we try to start recording an error apears , it says it cannot allocate memory also it never seems to really conects as seen on the video as soon as the connection begins you can preview real time in both arena and 3ds max but it never happens. so we're kind of stuck here we can't get our data on 3ds max.

also i don't know if the problem is our version of arena cause when downloading says to set the multicast settings in arena and in 3ds max we can set it up in 3ds amx but whe havent find how to make it in arena, in the video there's this tab called stream that doesnt exist in our version it called other and the only options displayed are the IP adress,scale%,Frame rate and the Stream frame button but nothing else so I really don't know how to proceed here any ideas of how can we make it work?
Thanks! I'll be looking up for any suggestion and once again thanks
Leon.
LeonLoire
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2010 3:45 am

by VincentG » Tue Nov 16, 2010 4:10 pm

You are trying to use the Motion Builder plugin for 3dmax?
VincentG
 
Posts: 7728
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2006 5:00 am
Location: Corvallis, Oregon

by VincentG » Tue Nov 16, 2010 4:17 pm

the original plugin -

The Arena plugin for real-time streaming and recording in 3D Studio Max

* Arena/Expression 1.4 Beta is required for recording

Supported Versions of 3D Studio max
* 3D Studio Max 5
* 3D Studio Max 9
* 3D Studio Max 2009
* (please contact us if you are interested in having other versions of 3D Studio Max supported)
VincentG
 
Posts: 7728
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2006 5:00 am
Location: Corvallis, Oregon

by farstar » Sun Jan 09, 2011 2:12 pm

were exactly can I find the video tutorial for using the this plug in 3ds max real time streaming and recording located?
Thank you for the help on this.
Jack
farstar
 
Posts: 140
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 12:26 am

by VincentG » Wed Jan 12, 2011 5:47 pm

http://www.naturalpoint.com/optitrack/p ... #tutorials

Or download WMV versions of the five additional ARENA tutorials:

� Rigid Body Wizard (WMV, 5.42 MB)
� Full Body Capture And BVH (WMV, 6.98 MB)
� Editing Tools (WMV, 12.4 MB)
� MotionBuilder (WMV, 8.45 MB)
� 3D Studio Max (WMV, 8.41 MB)
VincentG
 
Posts: 7728
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2006 5:00 am
Location: Corvallis, Oregon

by pamentej » Thu Mar 17, 2011 9:13 pm

...reading above, it was stated that the 2010 3ds Max plugin can be used with 3ds Max 2011. Will this be the same with 3ds Max 2012 when it is released shortly or will there be a new updated plugin and does the same apply for the Motionbuilder plugin?

Regards,
J
pamentej
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2011 9:09 pm

by NaturalPoint - Mike » Fri Mar 18, 2011 5:43 pm

The Motionbuilder plugin does work with 2012. As we have yet to officially test a version with 3D studio max 2012, I can not comment specifically on this at this time.
NaturalPoint - Mike
 
Posts: 1896
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 8:41 am
Location: Corvallis, OR

PreviousNext

Return to ARENA & Expression