DAZ Studio Plugin

s.chaplain
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 1:22 am

DAZ Studio Plugin

Post by s.chaplain » Thu Jan 08, 2009 1:52 am

Hello,

I wanted to have a test on DAZ Studio plugin. It was announced on the Arena Expression website page but I can't find any files to install. Do you have any documents explaining how to setup the system to have this plugin work ?
Can we use facial or full body mocap with this plugin ?

Regards,
S.CHAPLAIN

VincentG
Posts: 7728
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2006 5:00 am
Location: Corvallis, Oregon

Re: DAZ Studio Plugin

Post by VincentG » Fri Jan 09, 2009 9:36 am

We should be posting the link, and how to video shortly.

s.chaplain
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 1:22 am

Re: DAZ Studio Plugin

Post by s.chaplain » Fri Jan 09, 2009 10:48 am

Thank you for the answer.
Will it work for full body and facial capture (once at a time) ?

VincentG
Posts: 7728
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2006 5:00 am
Location: Corvallis, Oregon

Re: DAZ Studio Plugin

Post by VincentG » Fri Jan 09, 2009 10:59 am

It should support both full body, as well as facial -

http://www.naturalpoint.com/optitrack/p ... rison.html

Features and capabilities

Birch
Posts: 1139
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2003 5:00 am
Location: Corvallis, Oregon

Re: DAZ Studio Plugin

Post by Birch » Fri Jan 09, 2009 7:33 pm

A beta version of the DAZ 3D Plugin is available for download from the OptiTrack site. We look forward to hearing feedback about it.

* It has been tested with DAZ studio version 2.2.

* The Arena fullbody plugin works with DAZ characters of version 3 or higher.

* The Expression plugin is not yet finished.

http://www.naturalpoint.com/optitrack/s ... loads.html

markdc
Posts: 156
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2005 5:00 am
Location: California
Contact:

Re: DAZ Studio Plugin

Post by markdc » Sat Jan 10, 2009 5:09 pm

Awesome! I'll try to test it this week.

tvining
Posts: 126
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 10:24 am

Re: DAZ Studio Plugin

Post by tvining » Sat Jan 10, 2009 8:45 pm

Thanks!!! I did some initial tests on this, and it looks like it works great--the Daz V4 figure moves smoothly, almost exactly like the Arena capture, and the software plugin seems very stable. Bravo!!!

Now, if I could make one request--and I'm sure I'm not the only one who will want this--but it looks like the plugin is mapped to the Daz V4 figure, so it looks great on that figure, but not so much on V3 and I imagine not on others. Is there any chance the plugin could be adjusted for V3 and M3? V3 and M3 are widely used, and I think it would broaden Arena's appeal to a firmly-established base.

Thanks again--Tim

markdc
Posts: 156
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2005 5:00 am
Location: California
Contact:

Re: DAZ Studio Plugin

Post by markdc » Sun Jan 11, 2009 2:02 pm

Here is a quick test I did with Victoria 3: test (the video uses xvid)

I zeroed out the cr2 in Poser before loading it into daz studio (perhaps this can be done in daz studio?). Maybe I'll have to use the skeleton with toes to improve the feet.

tvining
Posts: 126
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 10:24 am

Re: DAZ Studio Plugin

Post by tvining » Sun Jan 11, 2009 7:17 pm

This is the difference I'm seeing between V4 and V3:

v4_test

v3_test

In particular, you can see that the feet on V4 are much more stable, and for me, the feet are really the critical point of mocap.

yoshi
Posts: 174
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 5:00 am
Location: silicon valley

Re: DAZ Studio Plugin

Post by yoshi » Sun Jan 11, 2009 8:03 pm

Mark,
I'm unable to play the video, do you have it in other format or can you describe your problem?

Tim,
Can you try increasing the XZ Translation value in the plugin? That should reduce the feet sliding problem.

Post Reply