Streaming to Unity3D (as of 4.1.2)

NatNet, VRPN, TrackD, and Plugins
woast

Streaming to Unity3D (as of 4.1.2)

Post by woast »

Hi there! My name is Jake. I'm a grad-student at the University of Idaho and I would like to make a tutorial series on how to stream Optitrack data into Unity3D. The idea is to have video(s) posted on YouTube before June 2013.

The issue at hand is that as far as scripting/coding goes, I'm incredibly inexperienced. As of right now, I cannot find a simple "how to" video or tutorial on making this bridge (or any solid data feed) into unity for people unskilled in C#. I've played with the scripts posted in this forum as well as those at the Unity site with no success.

I would like to re-examine the two solutions proposed elsewhere on this forum (link below) and assemble a walk through of how specifically the scripts and dlls provided can be utilized in the Unity3D environment.

To get started here, could someone please explain how the three scripts provided on the forum are deployed in Unity?

Arena to Unity

How can the script be utilized to manage a rigid body stream?

What would an example of a script that controls the trans/rot of an object look like?

Thank you for your time, and I look forward to seeing what we can pull together!
Atrexo

Re: Streaming to Unity3D (as of 4.1.2)

Post by Atrexo »

I'm also very interested in this! Perhaps someone could even provide a .unitypackage for us who can't code..?
woast

Post by woast »

I've been playing with the three scripts linked above and have formulated a new question. The direct depacetization scripts are geared towards using a skeleton, but what would the script look like if all that was needed was a couple of RigidBodies? How would the implementation script observe the # of rigid bodies and access their pos/rot?
VRDave

Post by VRDave »