Motive to ROS via NatNet

NatNet, VRPN, TrackD, and Plugins
AzunyanFF
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2016 4:13 am

Re: Motive to ROS via NatNet

Post by AzunyanFF »

Hi, I'm using ros(jade). I stuck in the first step, when I install the ros package using "sudo apt-get install ros-fuerte-mocap-optitrack " . It said unable to locate package.
I'm new in ros. sorry for my bad english.pls help thanks
pancakes
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2017 3:02 pm

Re: Motive to ROS via NatNet

Post by pancakes »

I know that this thread hasn't been active for quite a while, but I just wanted to make some clarifications in the hope that it might help others when using Motive 1.7+ with the mocap_optitrack package on ROS Indigo.

Ensure that you clone the new-and-old-support branch of mocap_optitrack rather than master (https://github.com/ros-drivers/mocap_op ... ld-support) and then perform a catkin-make.

In Motive's Data Streaming Pane:
  • The Multicast Interface field under advanced network options should be set to the default IP (239.255.42.99). If you change this address, make sure you are using a valid multicast address (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Multicast_address). Do not[\b] use the ROS machine's IP address in this field - it will not work as suggested in previous posts.
    Ensure Stream Rigid Bodies[\b] under Streaming Settings is set to true.


In mocap_optitrack's config.yaml file:
  • The multicast_address field should be set to the same address entered into Motive's multicast interface field (239.255.42.99)


Rigid body identifiers in motive under User Data) should be set as per responses above such that they match the identifiers in the config.yaml file:

...If you select a rigid body and open the Rigid Bodies pane, you can find it under Rigid Bodies -> Advanced -> User Data.


When all is said and done, you should just be able to run this command in one terminal:

Code: Select all

roslaunch mocap_optitrack mocap.launch
And then run this in another terminal:

Code: Select all

rostopic echo Robot_1/pose
(or similar depending on the topics configured in the config.yaml file).You should now see pose data streaming.

Good luck!
UbuntuROs
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2017 11:26 am

Re: Motive to ROS via NatNet

Post by UbuntuROs »

@Yan Zhang I am working on the same project I tried to follow the steps stated on http://wiki.ros.org/mocap_optitrack but since am new to ROS I don;'t know what to do. Could you please direct me into the steps needed to interface between ROS and motive?
UbuntuROs
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2017 11:26 am

Re: Motive to ROS via NatNet

Post by UbuntuROs »

@pancake I followed your steps but didnt get anything.I tried to run $rosrun mocap_optitrack mocap_node but it keeps saying "retrying failed to contact master"
Post Reply