Unity3D plugin does not work with Unity 5.6

NatNet, VRPN, TrackD, and Plugins
Post Reply
solroo
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue May 02, 2017 1:55 am

Unity3D plugin does not work with Unity 5.6

Post by solroo »

Hi,

I recently updated my project from unity 5.5.1 to unity 5.6.0f3 and the optitrack plugin does not receive frame data, even when it manages to connect.

Replication:
1. Download unity package from http://wiki.optitrack.com/index.php?tit ... ity_Plugin
2. Test with Unity 5.5 (working)
2.1 create empty project with unity 5.5
2.2 add package
2.3 open OptitrackExample.scene
2.4 configure natnet client ips
2.5 run (it should work)

3. Test with Unity 5.6.0f3 (no frame data)
3.1 create empty project with unity 5.6
3.2 add package
3.3 open OptitrackExample.scene
3.4 configure natnet client ips
3.5 run
3.6 Expected error:
OptitrackStreamingClient: No frames received from the server yet. Verify your connection settings are correct and that the server is streaming.
UnityEngine.Debug:LogWarning(Object, Object)
<CheckConnectionHealth>c__Iterator0:MoveNext() (at Assets/OptiTrack/Scripts/OptitrackStreamingClient.cs:360)
UnityEngine.SetupCoroutine:InvokeMoveNext(IEnumerator, IntPtr)
Is this a known bug?

Best,
-Sol
steven.andrews
NaturalPoint Employee
NaturalPoint Employee
Posts: 720
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2015 11:52 am

Re: Unity3D plugin does not work with Unity 5.6

Post by steven.andrews »

Hi Sol,

I run Unity 5.6.0f3 on my machine and the current version of the OptiTrack plugin. I am able to stream rigid body and skeleton data without any issues.

Are you able to go back and forth to consistently show 5.5 works and 5.6 does not, for you?
Are you streaming locally, or to another machine?

You may want to check your computer to be sure there are no firewalls or antivirus software enabled. These usually interfere with data streaming and will allow you to connect, but not receive frame data. This should be consistent regardless of the version of Unity you are using, but it is common practice to make sure the Windows Firewall is disabled.

Cheers,
Steven
--
Steven Andrews
OptiTrack | Senior Customer Support Engineer
solroo
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue May 02, 2017 1:55 am

Re: Unity3D plugin does not work with Unity 5.6

Post by solroo »

You are totally right, the firewall was blocking the new version of Unity (should have checked that before posting)

Thanks for your help!
Post Reply