Getting data from flex13 cameras

NatNet, VRPN, TrackD, and Plugins
ohanoch

Getting data from flex13 cameras

Post by ohanoch »

Hi all,
I will start with saying that I am new to this world and as such might be missunderstanding some very basic things, so please correct me if I am way off the mark on things.

Recently my workplace found 4 old flex 13 cameras with an optihub 2 that haven't been used in a while and wanted to start a project tracking drones with them. Other than the cameras and hubs existance I don't have a clue of anything that has to do with them.
Basically as mentioned I want to be able to track drones, get the data from them in order to get my drones location and be able to reprogram the drone. I do not need it for graphical work or animations or anything of the sorts.

From looking around it seems like I need the NatNet SDK (or maybe the Camera SDK)? And I understand there is a way to link the information to MATLAB, which sounds like that is what I need (though if there is a way to get the information easily with python or C++ I would prefer that) but I didn't really understand how that works.

Also most of our workflow here is in Linux. As I see it everything on the website indicates that this works with Windows only, but I was wondering if there might be something I am missing that will allow me to work on Linux, though that isn't a deal breaker.

As you can see I am basically lost and looking for a place to start, like which SDK I need and how to get started with that SDK to be able to get the data I need. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Kind regards,
Or
joe.lee

Re: Getting data from flex13 cameras

Post by joe.lee »

Hello Or,

Welcome to the 3D tracking word. I hope you find it exciting.

We have a comprehensive setup documentation on our wiki: wiki.optitrack.com

I would suggest following the Getting Started guide to setup the tracking system first: http://v110.wiki.optitrack.com/index.ph ... ng_Started