Rigid Body IDs with Arena and NatNet

NatNet, VRPN, TrackD, and Plugins
seang
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2010 11:29 am

Rigid Body IDs with Arena and NatNet

Post by seang »

I am trying to stream a couple simple rigid bodies with the Arena software to the NatNet sample apps (I will write a custom app once I verify this will work). I am having problems distinguishing between two rigid bodies - they both have an ID of 1. They have unique names but the ID is always 1.

I have tried the PacketClient, SampleClient and WinFormsSample, stepping through in the debugger and all appear to be receiving this non-unique ID for all rigid bodies. I did not take a look at the raw data itself though.

Any ideas what may be wrong? Is there a way of specifying the ID when defining the rigid body? Any thoughts on how to get this info from the NatNet library (preferably NatNetML)?

Sincere thanks,
Sean

Here is the output of a data packet from the PacketClient:

Code: Select all

-------------
Begin Packet
-------
Message ID : 7
Byte count : 108
Frame # : 56627
Marker Set Count : 0
Unidentified Marker Count : 0
Rigid Body Count : 2
ID : 1
pos: [299.35,11.40,26.18]
ori: [-0.02,0.62,0.06,0.78]
Marker Count: 0
Mean marker error: 0.00
ID : 1
pos: [379.33,10.52,25.81]
ori: [-0.19,-0.04,0.98,0.03]
Marker Count: 0
Mean marker error: 0.00
Skeleton Count : 0
latency : 0
End Packet
-------------
Quen
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 7:22 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Re: Rigid Body IDs with Arena and NatNet

Post by Quen »

Any information about this?
I got the same: several riged bodys, all with ID "1".
VincentG
Posts: 7728
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2006 5:00 am
Location: Corvallis, Oregon

Re: Rigid Body IDs with Arena and NatNet

Post by VincentG »

What version of the Arena software are you using?

What version of the NatNet interface?
Quen
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 7:22 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Re: Rigid Body IDs with Arena and NatNet

Post by Quen »

The Arena version is 1.6.1000

NatNet is version is 2.2.0

I tested it with the packet client sample and with my own application which does not use any code from the sample. Both give me ID = "1"
VincentG
Posts: 7728
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2006 5:00 am
Location: Corvallis, Oregon

Re: Rigid Body IDs with Arena and NatNet

Post by VincentG »

What is the multicast address you have set, within the Arena software?
Quen
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 7:22 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Re: Rigid Body IDs with Arena and NatNet

Post by Quen »

It is 239.255.42.99
I think that was default, can't remember changing it.
VincentG
Posts: 7728
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2006 5:00 am
Location: Corvallis, Oregon

Re: Rigid Body IDs with Arena and NatNet

Post by VincentG »

Try adjusting the address to 224.0.0.1
Quen
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 7:22 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Re: Rigid Body IDs with Arena and NatNet

Post by Quen »

I tried that adress, but no change. Still all id = 1
cHolmes
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2010 10:52 am

Re: Rigid Body IDs with Arena and NatNet

Post by cHolmes »

I'm using an older version of Arena (1.5.0000) and I'm wondering if this issue has been resolved? If so, what version was it fixed in?

Thanks,

Chris
ypapelis
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 8:44 am

Re: Rigid Body IDs with Arena and NatNet

Post by ypapelis »

Any update on this issue?

I am using Arena 1.6.3000 (Build 8526) and NatNet tools, version 2.2.0 (4/25/2010), and am having the same problem.
Post Reply