forums.naturalpoint.com

Discussion and Support for the OptiTrack, SmartNav and TrackIR brands by NaturalPoint

Can't make TrackIR window appear in Windows 10

by slaintemaith » Sat Jun 04, 2016 8:17 am

So I've been using TrackIR happily for YEARS...
Just changed monitors, and wanted to tweak my TrackIR settings. Except when I click on the icon in the Task View, the title appears in the task bar, but no TrackIR settings.
Okay, so it's probably on the Laptop screen, right?
Nope.
Okay, so I'll just cascade windows and it'll show up in the middle again, right?
Nope.
Okay so I'll pull up Task Manager and 'Move' it, Right?
Windows 10 doesn't do that, so 'Nope.'
Okay, so I'll uninstall it and reinstall it.
Nope.
Okay, so I'll uninstall it, look for any sloppy files leftover, and reinstall it.
Nope.
Okay, so I'll uninstall it, look for any sloppy leftover files AND slopply leftover registry entries, and reinstall it.
Nope.

At wit's end.
Help before I smash something expensive.
slaintemaith
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2016 8:08 am

by MikeWitham » Mon Jun 06, 2016 2:03 pm

slaintemaith,

Hopefully you didn't smash anything yet. I want you to go to the TrackIR directory folder and delete the Settings.xml file and then run TrackIR. That should reset it to the default window settings, it will also change your speed and smoothness settings back to default. Try that and let me know if it helps.

Regards,
Mike Witham
TrackIR Product Manager
MikeWitham
NaturalPoint Employee
NaturalPoint Employee
 
Posts: 1477
Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2013 10:19 am

by Chao_Phraya » Sat Jul 02, 2016 4:24 am

I have the same problem in Windows 10. It worked fine for a while, but now the TrackIR settings window will not open. Deleting the Settings.xml file did not help for me ?

Any other suggestions?
Chao_Phraya
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2016 4:16 am

by Chao_Phraya » Wed Jul 06, 2016 6:49 am

After some testing, I found out what had happened. At least in my case :) Every time i tried to maximise the TrackIR window, a saw a little blink by the Windows flag on the task bar. So I knew the window was there some place :) I started to wonder if it was outside my screen, so I lowered the screen resolution. Then the TrackIR window (the top of the window frame) showed up on the screen, as a small dot, about a 1/2 inch. Then I was able to resize the window again, just by draging with the cursor, so now it is ok again, and I am happy :-)

So what had happened, is that the TrackIR window had shrunk to a minimum, for some reason, and I was not able to see it when I tried to maximize it.
Chao_Phraya
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2016 4:16 am

by MikeWitham » Wed Jul 06, 2016 10:15 am

Chao_Phraya,

I'm curious why deleting the Settings.xml file didn't resolve this for you then. The default windows size that was saved and causing it to disappear on you is all stored in the Settings file. Oh well, if it is working for you right now, we won't worry about it. Please let me know if anything changes, but until then have fun gaming.

Regards,
Mike Witham
TrackIR Product Manager
MikeWitham
NaturalPoint Employee
NaturalPoint Employee
 
Posts: 1477
Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2013 10:19 am

by taskbarsupport » Tue Feb 20, 2018 2:47 am

there are several resons when taskbar not responding such as diaable services, wrong runing of window explorel and so on. to solve this issue you can reset your winodw from your device to solve this taskbar issues, use winodw powershell to solve the window taskbar fix.
taskbarsupport
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2018 2:39 am


Return to TrackIR 5

cron