Not Connecting to P3D

Post Reply
dfreemanfso
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2017 8:16 pm

Not Connecting to P3D

Post by dfreemanfso » Fri Feb 03, 2017 8:24 pm

I have owned my Trackir since 2014 and have never had an issue. It has run fine in P3D 3.4 for several weeks. When I started it up last night I get one green led light on the left and the user interface, but nothing in P3D. I've been through the forums here and at LM and have tried everything under the sun.

Run Trackir as admin
Updated and reinstalled the software
Run P3D not as an admin
ran all the simconnect MSIs inside P3D
changed my Prepared 3D.exe to P3D.exe

I am frustrated and out of options. I am at a loss as to how a great product can run so well for so long and then randomly stoop working with no solutions.

The only thing I can think of that caused this is my install of the FSlabs A320 for prepared that requires me to run P3D as an admin.

Please help.

Thanks,

Dave

MikeWitham
NaturalPoint Employee
NaturalPoint Employee
Posts: 1477
Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2013 10:19 am

Re: Not Connecting to P3D

Post by MikeWitham » Mon Feb 06, 2017 5:56 pm

dfreemanfso,

Have you tried running TrackIR as an administrator as well? I haven't seen what the new update has in it. If they changed SimConnect files it could have created an issue, but I haven't seen an influx of requests for support yet.

Regards,
Mike Witham
TrackIR Product Manager

dfreemanfso
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2017 8:16 pm

Re: Not Connecting to P3D

Post by dfreemanfso » Fri Feb 10, 2017 10:21 pm

I have tried running as admin with no luck.

jordanal
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2007 7:09 am
Location: KMLB

Re: Not Connecting to P3D

Post by jordanal » Sun Feb 12, 2017 2:34 pm

Same here - Prepar3D was working fine until the latest update, v3.4.22. Now it won't connect and the 'Active Title' is "none". :(
V/r,
-Al

jordanal
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2007 7:09 am
Location: KMLB

Re: Not Connecting to P3D

Post by jordanal » Sun Feb 12, 2017 3:47 pm

Disregard - TrackIR5 5.4.2 is working fine with P3D v3.4.22. It turns out, if you run P3D as 'Admin' by modifying the desktop shortcut, TrackIR5 doesn't work (connect to P3D). :ugeek:
V/r,
-Al

dfreemanfso
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2017 8:16 pm

Re: Not Connecting to P3D

Post by dfreemanfso » Mon Feb 13, 2017 6:47 pm

This is the ultimate catch 22. I love TrackIR so much that its failure has literally ruined flight simulator for me. Which in turn, makes me despise TrackIR with every fiber of my being. I have been working through this for over a week with no help and no fix. I am now at the point that I have to uninstall and reinstall everything from scratch...again! This takes weeks with my schedule, and I really can't put in to words how unhappy I am.

I'm glad that some people have had figured out solutions. I'm angry that the solutions I've seen are all based on random "work around" experiments from users, which tells me that the developer doesn't know what the underlying problem is.

Right now I have a useless simulator.

MikeWitham
NaturalPoint Employee
NaturalPoint Employee
Posts: 1477
Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2013 10:19 am

Re: Not Connecting to P3D

Post by MikeWitham » Tue Feb 14, 2017 11:31 am

dfreemanfso,

P3D uses SimConnect to work with TrackIR. That is a 3rd party utility initially designed for FSX, owned and edited by Lockheed Martin. When they update their software, SimConnect can get changed and impact the connection between our software and their sim. Sadly, every version I have used after this update on multiple PCs works without a hitch. I mean literally, we update P3D, fire up TrackIR, fire up P3D and it works.

I understand that you have concerns and I wish I could put them to rest. I'm not sure what causes your issue to not respond to the current available solutions. If you would like to create a ticket with me at help.naturalpoint.com I can try and dig in more to the issue and troubleshoot on a personal basis instead of generalized support here.

The reason that you see work arounds is because the break in connection is not ours. We do however work as hard as we can to make sure that it can and will work. I'll reach out to LM again to see if I can hunt down a better solution.

Regards,
Mike Witham
TrackIR Product Manager

dfreemanfso
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2017 8:16 pm

Re: Not Connecting to P3D

Post by dfreemanfso » Thu Feb 16, 2017 5:55 am

Update...

I uninstalled and reinstalled - Again - one add-on at a time to ensure compatibility. I really thought the culprit was going to be a communications issue between AS16, TrackIR, and a version of Simconnect inside P3D...wrong.

I literally had all the add-ons in and working with TrackIR. Then I made the mistake of restarting my computer, and TrackIR no longer worked. So I really think this is on you all to figure out. Active Sky, PMDG, FSDT, and the rest all seem to be fine, so I can only think that this is a bug somewhere between you and LM.

Sorry, but I'm not going to do a trouble ticket. I've quite frankly spent too much time trying to figure this out over the last two weeks, and I no longer have the time, energy, or sanity to continue to fight this fight. In the meantime, I'll give Chase Plane a try and give TrackIR another shot down the road if you release updates.

I appreciate the quick responses to my posts, and I really do love the product. Maybe I'll be able to use it again in the future.

Post Reply