Precision video processing mode is jittery

RedEyedWarrior

Precision video processing mode is jittery

Post by RedEyedWarrior »

Yo,

Right I've been using trackir 5 for a few years with no issues, then I unplug the unit accidentally while it was in use and fried the camera (me stupid). So now I have a replacement unit and this one will not work like the previous unit with Video Processing Mode set to Precision. Its jittery as hell, previous unit didn't behave in that manner. Looking at the camera view in the software you can see the center point jank when I move my head. Ive varied IR strength/Threshold settings but this has no effect.

So now im running it in standard mode which is way smoother BUT not as smooth as precision USED to be. Totally lost with it, I remember the previous unit doing something like this one time but a PC reboot sorted it out. This problem persists. Im using previous profiles which are fine. Desktop is running at 144hz but I lock any game I play using trackir to 120hz. I have g-ysnc on but this has NEVER caused me any issue previously, plus I use nvidia inspector to only turn g-sync on in certain games/circumstances.

The only thing that has changed since the I fried the first unit is installing FacetracknoIR to bind head movement to a joystick. Since uninstalled the program just incase but that has made no difference. All so running trackIR in admin mode to see if that helps but still no change.

Just to reiterate, previous unit worked PERFECTLY with current PC configuration. I mean super smooth movement from 60fps - 120hz, the framerate could vary but the smoothness remained. This second unit does not behave that way whatsoever.

Anyone come across something similar and have a suggestion?

Many Thanks.
jillian.smythe
NaturalPoint Employee
NaturalPoint Employee

Re: Precision video processing mode is jittery

Post by jillian.smythe »

Hello RedEyedWarrior,