Beta 5 Crash on startup

ix07
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2009 2:00 pm

Beta 5 Crash on startup

Post by ix07 » Wed Jul 29, 2009 1:14 am

Hi.

The newest Beta still crashes on startup for me. Any hope for a fix?

Thanks.

Best Regards
ix

JuMo
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 3:28 am
Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: Beta 5 Crash on startup

Post by JuMo » Wed Jul 29, 2009 8:31 am

Same here, but I got beta5 to work by setting it to NT4 compatibility mode. Right click on the application link icon -> properties -> compatibility. Not a fix and not guaranteed to work, but it has helped some, so it might be worth a try if you haven't yet.

Seth Steiling
Posts: 1366
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2008 11:29 am
Location: Corvallis, Oregon

Re: Beta 5 Crash on startup

Post by Seth Steiling » Wed Jul 29, 2009 10:02 am

Marketing Manager
TrackIR | OptiTrack

ix07
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2009 2:00 pm

Re: Beta 5 Crash on startup

Post by ix07 » Wed Jul 29, 2009 10:35 am

Uhm. That thread is about a different problem - isn't it? I'm talking about a crash when trying to run the program - not that some games don't work (although I got that problem, too the one time the software actually worked). I had the crash problem in the last beta, too.

Seth Steiling
Posts: 1366
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2008 11:29 am
Location: Corvallis, Oregon

Re: Beta 5 Crash on startup

Post by Seth Steiling » Wed Jul 29, 2009 10:37 am

[quote=Ix07]Uhm. That thread is about a different problem - isn't it? [/quote]
Point being that, even if you get beta 05 to start running, it currently won't connect to games. So, you're probably better off not spending too much time getting it to run, until we've released a hotfix for beta 05 (soon).
Marketing Manager
TrackIR | OptiTrack

ix07
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2009 2:00 pm

Re: Beta 5 Crash on startup

Post by ix07 » Wed Jul 29, 2009 10:40 am

Ok. Then I will spend my time trying to get it to run, when you have fixed the other problem. Sounds reasonable :)

JuMo
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 3:28 am
Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: Beta 5 Crash on startup

Post by JuMo » Wed Jul 29, 2009 11:18 am

[quote=NaturalPoint - Seth][quote=Ix07]Uhm. That thread is about a different problem - isn't it? [/quote]
Point being that, even if you get beta 05 to start running, it currently won't connect to games. [...]. [/quote]

Ouch, you're right, just checked in IL-2 6DOF. What's funny though: I installed beta5 on 07/26, got it running in compatibility mode, and spent quite a few hours flying around in IL-2, I was soo happy to get V5 running after weeks. V5B5 did connect to the game at that time, everything *just worked*.

Now it doesnt connect anymore. I did not change anything since I last ran the game. Why did it work before and now it doesnt with nothing changed? This is eerie...

Seth Steiling
Posts: 1366
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2008 11:29 am
Location: Corvallis, Oregon

Re: Beta 5 Crash on startup

Post by Seth Steiling » Thu Jul 30, 2009 9:27 am

[quote=JuMo]...Now it doesnt connect anymore. I did not change anything since I last ran the game. Why did it work before and now it doesnt with nothing changed? This is eerie... [/quote]
I'm not sure how it could have worked, considering that we know that component was broken. Weird idea, troubleshooting something that's working when it shouldn't. Kinda backwards. :)
Marketing Manager
TrackIR | OptiTrack

MrPatton
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2009 10:53 am

Re: Beta 5 Crash on startup

Post by MrPatton » Sat Aug 22, 2009 10:49 am

[quote=NaturalPoint - Seth][quote=JuMo]...Now it doesnt connect anymore. I did not change anything since I last ran the game. Why did it work before and now it doesnt with nothing changed? This is eerie... [/quote]
I'm not sure how it could have worked, considering that we know that component was broken. Weird idea, troubleshooting something that's working when it shouldn't. Kinda backwards. :) [/quote]

Same problem here, few days back trackir 5v worked.
I played arma2for an hour, next day i wanted to play some more but "no dice"

never worked again sinds, craches on startup.
installed version 4 but thats all over the place and does not work with my trackir 5.

could someone help me out her cause im gonna freak tf out over here :crazy:

MrPatton
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2009 10:53 am

Re: Beta 5 Crash on startup

Post by MrPatton » Tue Aug 25, 2009 8:44 am

Found the solution for the software launch problem.

,
-rightclick shortcut
-select properties
-select Compatibility Tab
-check the "Disable desktop composition" box

Done, you are good to go.
Cheers

Post Reply