TrackIR 5 Software Crashes Battlefield 2

vp747
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 3:25 am

Re: TrackIR 5 Software Crashes Battlefield 2

Post by vp747 » Sat Oct 17, 2009 11:58 pm

**Casts Reserection**

I have the same problem with the Steam version of BF2 and TrackIR v5

P55 mobo
i7 860 CPU (stock)
8GB RAM
Vista x64
GTX 8800 XxX OC'd
(Also tested with ATI 4890)

Latest drivers/BIOS/updates as of yesterday.

It seems that BF2 checks the memory address where part of TIR resides (and is protected) and attempts to access it, causing the crash. Knowing EA (and DICE, to a lesser extent) and their statements years ago about wide screen monitors and their resolutions being an "unfair advantage" ... I wouldn't be suprised if this *ahem* 'bug' wasn't intentional on EA's part.

Jaded? Yes.

[EDIT]

Here's a snap of the error;

Image

RAFGunner
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2009 9:48 am
Location: UK (Swindon) US (VA) Spain (Alicante)

Re: TrackIR 5 Software Crashes Battlefield 2

Post by RAFGunner » Thu Oct 29, 2009 10:31 am

I too have to turn off TrackIR when I play BF2.

All latest drivers are installed and the latest patch.
Win 7
AMD 9950BE
M3N-HT
Razer Tarantula
Razer Lachesis
8800GT x2 (SLI)

I thought that as the game did not support TrackIR I would give the mouse emulation software a go. It crashed back to desktop.

Not really a problem, more of would be nice if we could fix it.

PM me if you need to run through anything.

Rob2222
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Nov 15, 2009 6:52 pm

Re: TrackIR 5 Software Crashes Battlefield 2

Post by Rob2222 » Sun Nov 15, 2009 6:54 pm

Same problem here.

Win7-64bit
Geforce 9800GTX+ 512MB
6GB RAM

BF2 1.5 + Forgotten Hope 2.2
Trackir V5 5.0.300 b6225

Can it have to do something with Punkbuster Anti-Cheat of BF2?

*help*

BR Rob

APPCRASH:
Problemsignatur:
Problemereignisname: APPCRASH
Anwendungsname: bf2.exe
Anwendungsversion: 0.0.0.0
Anwendungszeitstempel: 4a8d6629
Fehlermodulname: bf2.exe
Fehlermodulversion: 0.0.0.0
Fehlermodulzeitstempel: 4a8d6629
Ausnahmecode: c0000005
Ausnahmeoffset: 00237580
Betriebsystemversion: 6.1.7600.2.0.0.256.48
Gebietsschema-ID: 1031
Zusatzinformation 1: 0a9e
Zusatzinformation 2: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789
Zusatzinformation 3: 0a9e
Zusatzinformation 4: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789

VincentG
Posts: 7728
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2006 5:00 am
Location: Corvallis, Oregon

Re: TrackIR 5 Software Crashes Battlefield 2

Post by VincentG » Mon Nov 16, 2009 4:27 pm

If you use the 4.1.037 software does it also crash?

GoNz0
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2007 9:46 am

Re: TrackIR 5 Software Crashes Battlefield 2

Post by GoNz0 » Tue Nov 24, 2009 6:13 pm

great, for months i could not find out whats wrong with BF2, i ended up formatting to win7 and the problem is still there. i read this and disable trackIR and BF2 loads 1st time.


how about you guys fix it as i should not have to roll back to version 4 for this.

Foxtrot1213
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2008 1:42 am

Re: TrackIR 5 Software Crashes Battlefield 2

Post by Foxtrot1213 » Fri Nov 27, 2009 8:18 pm

Good Mother nature. I reinstalled game like 5 times, uninstalled and installed ATI driver 3 times. Copied this and that dlls in my system32 folder and WOW folder in my computer, and problem was still there. Accidentally, I saw this thread while searching for this pain in the ass problem.

I will throw this new TrackIR software away if it won't be fixed soon. How about posting this problem on the front page so that everyone who owns Battlefield 2 knows about it, and won't go through this stuff we have been through.

ProfFarnsworth
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2009 11:37 pm

Re: TrackIR 5 Software Crashes Battlefield 2

Post by ProfFarnsworth » Sat Nov 28, 2009 12:06 am

NaturalPoint hates Battlefield 2? Maybe because they didn't support TrackIR. :D

RAFGunner
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2009 9:48 am
Location: UK (Swindon) US (VA) Spain (Alicante)

Re: TrackIR 5 Software Crashes Battlefield 2

Post by RAFGunner » Fri Dec 04, 2009 9:51 am

Well TBH its not really NaturalPoints fault as it was BF2 (programmers) who didn't include it in their software. The fact that TrackIR doesn't work with BF2 is no real biggie..... it would be nice, but if its not possible then hey ho. This is still one of the best bits of kit.

@Amj: If you want to do that then go ahead, but it won't solve any problems will it?

Why would you reinstall a game 5 times? Once would have been enough to see if it would fix your problem same with the ATICCC drivers.


*My views are my own, not that of NaturalPoint*

Ala13_Kokakolo
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2008 2:02 pm

Re: TrackIR 5 Software Crashes Battlefield 2

Post by Ala13_Kokakolo » Sun Feb 28, 2010 5:54 am

I got the same problem... still no fix??

angrylarry
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2010 1:12 am

Re: TrackIR 5 Software Crashes Battlefield 2

Post by angrylarry » Fri Mar 12, 2010 1:24 am

I would very much like BF2 support (not all of us are blessed with machines that run ARMA2 at a reasonable frame rate).

Since Natural Point's responses on this (rather short and cranky to start with) eventually fizzled out I take it there is no current or future solution in sight, shame really.

My TrackIR 5 manual mentions third party software that works with Track IR to make otherwise unsupported games recognise it. There's even a forum link mentioned, but that seems to be dead.

Some people do seem to get it to work, see this youtube link for an example (not vanilla BF2, but the Project Reality mod)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ieWbrD-HaOY

Any comments (especially by Natural Point)?

Post Reply