DCS A10C Warthog support.

Kuky
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2010 10:05 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: DCS A10C Warthog support.

Post by Kuky » Sat Oct 16, 2010 10:12 pm

[quote=ProfFarnsworth]There's no performance difference between 32bit DCS and 64bit DCS. This whole thread is much ado about nothing.[/quote]

I did test with running 32bit and 64bit DCS.exe and there IS a performance increase running 64bit:

32bit exe with ATI HD4890
26 - 26 - 33 - 33 - 24 - 53 fps
32bit exe with ATI HD5870
29 - 44 - 36 - 40 - 27 - 60 fps

64bit exe with ATI HD4890
28 - 37 - 33 - 33 - 25 - 53 fps
64bit exe with ATI HD5870
33 - 55 - 47 - 40 - 29 - 60 fps

*60fps is limited by V-Sync being on

To NaturalPoint team... thank you for making 64bit software as priority, many people will be highly anticipating its release me included!

Epikk
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2010 7:25 am
Location: Bordeaux, France

Re: DCS A10C Warthog support.

Post by Epikk » Mon Oct 18, 2010 7:28 am

I have better performance with 64 bits version on my setup too...
Especially no stutters...
So I too am waiting for these new drivers for the Hog...

Sean_S36
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 5:00 am
Location: Melbourne Aus.
Contact:

Re: DCS A10C Warthog support.

Post by Sean_S36 » Sun Oct 24, 2010 12:26 am

Thanks NP

Bullet
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2005 5:00 am
Location: Denver

Re: DCS A10C Warthog support.

Post by Bullet » Wed Oct 27, 2010 8:19 am

I have to agree it is smoother in the 64 bit then 32 and I can not wait until I have my trackir in 64 bit game :)... No pressure,lol.




Bullet

discust1
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Oct 29, 2010 7:36 pm

Re: DCS A10C Warthog support.

Post by discust1 » Fri Oct 29, 2010 7:41 pm

I am just kind of curious on several posts everywhere it seams that people say 64 bit doesnt enhance much I am confused 32 bit can only run memory to 2gig 64 bit can go to 16 gig and for gaming floating point registers are very important for all the math computations and again 64 bit is vastly larger than 32 bit as long as a game is written to test for the version of OS that is being ran and is written to utilize it should show great improvements, again unless I am missing something.

TongueDar
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2010 6:34 pm

Re: DCS A10C Warthog support.

Post by TongueDar » Sat Oct 30, 2010 12:17 am

@discust1,

64-bit goes WAY beyond 16 gigs. Last I recall, it was up towards a terabyte.

It helps out in DCS-A-10, because it allows more textures to be loaded into the available memory, which can help to eliminate the load-stutters, since that means less time hitting the hard-drive.

If it helps out with the math holding the plane up, I don't know for sure. The only difference I really notice between the two versions is loading and more so the reloading when going back to a mission.

petherf
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2010 3:12 am

Re: DCS A10C Warthog support.

Post by petherf » Wed Nov 03, 2010 5:57 am

Is there eny news on when we will see an update for the 64 bit?

Outlaw24
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2004 5:00 am

Re: DCS A10C Warthog support.

Post by Outlaw24 » Wed Nov 03, 2010 7:37 am

[quote=petherf]Is there eny news on when we will see an update for the 64 bit? [/quote]
+1

Seth Steiling
Posts: 1365
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2008 11:29 am
Location: Corvallis, Oregon

Re: DCS A10C Warthog support.

Post by Seth Steiling » Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:34 am

[quote=petherf]Is there eny news on when we will see an update for the 64 bit?[/quote]
No update yet. You'll know when there is something to know. :)
Marketing Manager
TrackIR | OptiTrack

Poko24
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2008 4:59 am

Re: DCS A10C Warthog support.

Post by Poko24 » Thu Nov 04, 2010 11:49 am

Great to hear it Seth! So many folks are looking forward to this update. Naturalpoints please make 64bit soft as one of the most important task on the board. We - the long-time users - can't wait for it already. Warm greetings from Eagle Dynamics forum!

Locked