FSX pause & Track IR5

Post Reply
ontheair
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2011 5:04 am

FSX pause & Track IR5

Post by ontheair » Tue Sep 06, 2011 5:28 am

If FSX is paused for a long time (more than a few minutes) TrackIR5 stops working as soon as FSX is unpaused (camera tracking is inop) ??

What can I do to avoid that kind of issue ?

Is there a way to reactivate Track IR? If not, you should consider about implementing such a reactivation function from within Track IR5 instead of starting up again the whole stuff

Currently running W7-64 + Track IR5 with Track Clip + FSX Gold Edition

NaturalPoint - Mike
Posts: 1896
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 8:41 am
Location: Corvallis, OR

Re: FSX pause & Track IR5

Post by NaturalPoint - Mike » Tue Sep 06, 2011 4:45 pm

When it is paused, does the computer go into a screensaver or low power mode? How long is it paused?

ontheair
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2011 5:04 am

Re: FSX pause & Track IR5

Post by ontheair » Tue Sep 06, 2011 11:10 pm

"When it is paused, does the computer go into a screensaver or low power mode? How long is it paused?

yes, vhen FSX is paused it goes into a screensaver mode but not into a lower power mode

how long is it paused ? approx 1H or more

ontheair
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2011 5:04 am

Re: FSX pause & Track IR5

Post by ontheair » Thu Sep 08, 2011 8:01 am

as your last questions were answered I would appreciate a follow-up. Thanks

NaturalPoint - Mike
Posts: 1896
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 8:41 am
Location: Corvallis, OR

Re: FSX pause & Track IR5

Post by NaturalPoint - Mike » Thu Sep 08, 2011 10:47 am

The first place I would look is in your device manager, specifically at the USB hub that the TrackIR is plugged into (there will still be one in the device manager if the camera is plugged directly into the computer, as the computer has an internal hub). To find this, click "view" and select "devices by connection". Drill through all this mess until you find the TrackIR camera. Check the camera, and all devices as you backtrack to the PCI bus, for any options that would allow the computer to shut off power to the device (usually this is on the USB Root Hub).

ontheair
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2011 5:04 am

Re: FSX pause & Track IR5

Post by ontheair » Thu Sep 08, 2011 11:02 pm

"To find this, click "view" and select "devices by connection""

Where should I click "view" to select "devices by connection" ?

would you please try to be more explicite ?

Thanks

NaturalPoint - Mike
Posts: 1896
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 8:41 am
Location: Corvallis, OR

Re: FSX pause & Track IR5

Post by NaturalPoint - Mike » Fri Sep 09, 2011 10:25 am

View is a toolbar menu option at the top of the device manager. It can be seen in the top center of the following image:
Image

ontheair
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2011 5:04 am

Re: FSX pause & Track IR5

Post by ontheair » Fri Sep 09, 2011 11:23 pm

"Drill through all this mess until you find the TrackIR camera"

OK, found the device Manager in my french W7-64 OS

when selecting "devices by connection" in the view tab TrackIR camera is not in the list but when selecting "devices by type" NaturalPoint TrackIR5 is in the list as a sub-division of NaturalPoint Devices

would you please check ? thanks

NaturalPoint - Mike
Posts: 1896
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 8:41 am
Location: Corvallis, OR

Re: FSX pause & Track IR5

Post by NaturalPoint - Mike » Mon Sep 12, 2011 4:50 pm

In my computer it is:


ACPI X64-Based PC
Microsoft ACPI-Compliant System
PCI Bus
Intel(R) ICH9 Family USB Universal Host Controller -
USB Root Hub - ***(This is the one you want to edit)***
TrackIR 5


In your computer this will be different based on hardware and language, but you get the idea. If you need further assistance with this, we can attempt a remote desktop connection during normal business hours. Please contact support@naturalpoint.com for more information.

ontheair
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2011 5:04 am

Re: FSX pause & Track IR5

Post by ontheair » Tue Sep 13, 2011 5:41 am

thanks for your help !

just found the "USB Root Hub" to edit as described in your post

Post Reply