forums.naturalpoint.com

Discussion and Support for the OptiTrack, SmartNav and TrackIR brands by NaturalPoint

Insight VCS

by DonBurroni » Fri Apr 15, 2011 5:55 am

Hi guys,
been having a play with the VCS, I cannt get the camera to rotate?

I having to use the rigidbody constraint in motionbuilder to do all my cam work,

The camera just translates like a point constraint.

Any advice.

All the best
Burroni
DonBurroni
 
Posts: 127
Joined: Thu May 27, 2010 2:26 am
Location: Manchester, UK

by DonBurroni » Fri Apr 15, 2011 5:56 am

ps tried the new motionbuilder plugin and beta Arena too, still no luck
DonBurroni
 
Posts: 127
Joined: Thu May 27, 2010 2:26 am
Location: Manchester, UK

by DonBurroni » Tue Apr 19, 2011 6:25 am

still wont work
DonBurroni
 
Posts: 127
Joined: Thu May 27, 2010 2:26 am
Location: Manchester, UK

by JustinDenton » Tue Apr 19, 2011 2:04 pm

Hey Don!

That doesnt sound good! First are you using the MotionBuilder plugin or the maya plugin?

Try turning off all smoothing and let me know what happens.

Cheers,
JustinDenton
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2009 2:16 pm
Location: Venice, CA

by DonBurroni » Tue Apr 19, 2011 3:04 pm

Hi Justin,
Yep the new motionbuilder vcs plugin, dont have the maya one.

I have tried mobu 2010 up to 2012, all the same.
Where do you turn off smoothing?

One the arena side i have the top two tabs and rigid bodies selected for streaming.

The new trackin in area looks to be great less ghost markers.

All the best
Hogan
DonBurroni
 
Posts: 127
Joined: Thu May 27, 2010 2:26 am
Location: Manchester, UK

by NaturalPoint - Mike » Tue Apr 19, 2011 5:29 pm

So the connection is for sure established, there's just no rotation?
NaturalPoint - Mike
 
Posts: 1896
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 8:41 am
Location: Corvallis, OR

by DonBurroni » Wed Apr 20, 2011 7:19 am

Hi Mile,
yep just no rotation, very odd? the camera moves but always faces forward?

Very odd indeed, as i say I have to result in using the other plugin (optitrack optical) and streaming the dots, making a rigid body constraint in motionbuilder and attaching a camera.

Humm also, in motionbuilder 2012, they have locked the viewer and I can extend the display to my Virtual camera, dam u autodesk!! any Ideas?

and I cant make another viewer.

On the plus side Audodesk have release a new FBX 2012 converter with a viewer, even two (better than motionbuilder) and its fast.
DonBurroni
 
Posts: 127
Joined: Thu May 27, 2010 2:26 am
Location: Manchester, UK

by NaturalPoint - Mike » Wed Apr 20, 2011 9:47 am

Sounds like the issue might actually reside within your copy of motion builder. Aside from reinstalling MoBu, I'd have to recommend talking to Autodesk on this one.
NaturalPoint - Mike
 
Posts: 1896
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 8:41 am
Location: Corvallis, OR

by JustinDenton » Wed Apr 20, 2011 12:56 pm

Hi Don,

You can turn off smoothing in the properties window of the device. Select the Inight device in your navigator, then go to the properties window and turn off translate smoothing and rotate smoothing. I have seen this "unlock" rotations before. Also check your properties window settings to make sure all the rotations checkboxes are in fact turned on.

As for the Mobu 2012 thing, yeah we ran into this issue as well. You can still do it though, its just trickier than it was before. You have to take all of your the windows and "tear" them off. This way you are left with the viewport window by itself. This will allow you to make it a 2 view again and slide it off your main monitor and onto your secondary monitor.

Hope this helps,

Cheers,
JD
JustinDenton
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2009 2:16 pm
Location: Venice, CA

by morgan » Wed Apr 20, 2011 5:06 pm

Hey Don,

Can you contact support on this?

We can get you out a diganostic version of the VCS plugin that can get to the root of this.

thx

Morgan
morgan
NaturalPoint Employee
NaturalPoint Employee
 
Posts: 200
Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2008 2:01 pm
Location: Corvallis, OR, USA

Next

Return to Insight VCS

cron