Page 1 of 1

Switch from IR to visible

Posted: Tue Feb 23, 2010 4:04 am
by ichevarria
Hello, I work for a spanish company and we were interested in the OptiTrack FLEX:V100R2-FS cameras.

We had a question. This model allows to capture images in both infrared and visible, is that right? Well, in your web page you say that you can switch from visible (Grayscale) to infrared and from infrared to visible by software, using the tracking tools. We would like to switch using our own software, so we would need an API. Would that be possible?

Another question: We want to detect lightpoints in the images captured by the camera. We can do it by capturing all the frames and analyzing them, but that means a lot of CPU usage, specially if you got many cameras connected to you PC. Is there any option in the camera that allows you to "ask" if the camera is detecting any lightpoint, and the position in pixels of these lightpoints, at a certain time? That would solve some big problems because that way we would not have to analyse every single frame from all the cameras to detect these lightpoints.

Thank you very much!

Re: Switch from IR to visible

Posted: Tue Feb 23, 2010 3:16 pm
by Birch
We sent a reply to this via email, but we'll also post a response here since it may be useful to others.


1) Yes, its possible to switch the camera between IR mode and Visible mode using the OptiTrack SDK API.

Here is some C++ example code :

Code: Select all

// control IR filter switcher to select Visible or IR mode
CComVariant filterSwitcherEnabled;
filterSwitcherEnabled.boolVal = B2VB(true); // or false
filterSwitcherEnabled.vt = VT_BOOL;
hr = m_spCamera->SetOption(NP_OPTION_SET_IR_FILTER, filterSwitcherEnabled);
2) Yes, our cameras will detect and process bright objects on-board and send the object locations (in pixels) over USB to the PC. In-camera image processing is one of the main advantages of our cameras compared with products from other companies. The pre-processing greatly reduces CPU load and USB bandwidth consumption.

Re: Switch from IR to visible

Posted: Wed Mar 31, 2010 3:22 pm
by suhl79
I don't see this option available in C# SDK (1.3.037 version). I use V120 slim camera with filter switch. Could You help me please?

Thank You
suhl

Re: Switch from IR to visible

Posted: Wed Mar 31, 2010 4:56 pm
by Birch
If the option definitions aren't imported into your project automatically, you find then in OptiTrack.h under the \OptiTrack\inc folder of the install.

Have you tried using code similar to the sample below?

Code: Select all

private const int NP_OPTION_SET_IR_FILTER = 86;
.
.
camera.SetOption(NP_OPTION_SET_IR_FILTER, true);
or
camera.SetOption(NP_OPTION_SET_IR_FILTER, false);

Re: Switch from IR to visible

Posted: Thu Apr 01, 2010 1:16 am
by suhl79
People say You got the fastest technical support... now I see it's also the most reliable.

Now it wokrs! :)

Thank You.
suhl

Re: Switch from IR to visible

Posted: Thu May 06, 2010 12:19 am
by georgemikal
thanks for sharing here