forums.naturalpoint.com

Discussion and Support for the OptiTrack, SmartNav and TrackIR brands by NaturalPoint

No video when using sample app

by Harinath » Tue Sep 07, 2010 1:29 am

I copied "optitrackuuid.lib" to my project folder.
Now i can be able to compile the project :D , there are 3 cameras connected to my PC, I could not see video from any of the 3 cameras.
When i run the project,First dialog will open and lists the cameras connected, but if if i select the open button, no video from camera. :mad:

Thanks
Harinath
Harinath
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2010 1:06 am
Location: south korea

by Birch » Tue Sep 07, 2010 2:50 pm

* What camera models are you using?
* What video mode are they set to?
* Which version of the SDK do you have installed?


Have you tried just running the pre-built executable to see if the cameras work with it?
http://media.naturalpoint.com/software/ ... uild38.zip
Birch
NaturalPoint Employee
NaturalPoint Employee
 
Posts: 1139
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2003 5:00 am
Location: Corvallis, Oregon

by Harinath » Tue Sep 07, 2010 8:11 pm

Camera Model : FLEX :V100
Imaging modes: Pre-processed, Greyscale, Pre-processed objects
( default mode is set it seems, I'm not sure)
Visual studio SDK Version : VS2008 (upgraded to SP1 )
Optitrack SDK : Latest version installed.

I tried the pre-built executable to see if the cameras work with it
I can't see the video.( It lists 3 cameras(56436,56567,56437) which are available)

Latest Optitrack point cloud calibration tool is working fine.

Regards
Harinath
Harinath
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2010 1:06 am
Location: south korea

by Harinath » Tue Sep 07, 2010 9:32 pm

I could not see video when i run "Latest Optitrack point cloud calibration tool ", I reset my PC. Now i could run the pre-built sample application (and also .sln project file of the same sample).

Now i can see the position of my marker.However the program does not work all the time when i run. Only one camera out of 3 cameras gives the gray scale video.

I observed, most of the sample does not shutdown the cameras properly after closing the program, I could see dot or number of camera in the 2 digit display of the camera.

Totally no idea what it made to work & does not work some times.

Regards
Harinath
Harinath
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2010 1:06 am
Location: south korea

by Birch » Wed Sep 08, 2010 3:06 pm

[quote=Harinath]I could not see video when i run "Latest Optitrack point cloud calibration tool " [/quote]

Do you mean the Point Cloud toolkit calibration app or do you mean the Tracking Tools 2.0 software?

If you mean the Point Cloud toolkit then it requires the OptiTrack 2D SDK version 1.3.035 to be installed. The rep-built executable is not compatible with that version of the SDK.

If you mean the Tracking Tools 2.0 software, then it does not have any OptiTrack 2D SDK dependencies.
Birch
NaturalPoint Employee
NaturalPoint Employee
 
Posts: 1139
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2003 5:00 am
Location: Corvallis, Oregon

by Harinath » Wed Sep 08, 2010 10:30 pm

1.with which version the pre-built sample is compatible ?
2.with which version i can compile and run "OptiTrack_sample_VC8b_v31"
There is serious bug :mad: in this sample when i enabled "multi" camera option in code.I'm using latest version SDK.
Please let me know which version i can use.

Harinath.
Harinath
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2010 1:06 am
Location: south korea

by Harinath » Thu Sep 09, 2010 2:15 am

I'm new to this area.I have stupid questions.
Would you tell how to get 3D position from 3 cameras(single marker) ?
Is it possible to get orientation(rotation) form single marker ?

Regards
Harinath
Harinath
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2010 1:06 am
Location: south korea

by VincentG » Thu Sep 09, 2010 12:44 pm

[quote=Harinath]1.with which version the pre-built sample is compatible ?
2.with which version i can compile and run "OptiTrack_sample_VC8b_v31"
There is serious bug :mad: in this sample when i enabled "multi" camera option in code.I'm using latest version SDK.
Please let me know which version i can use.

Harinath.[/quote]

I believe that, unless otherwise stated, the 2d samples were last built with the 1.1.038 SDK

You can compile the sample applications against any version of the SDK, but make sure you are using a full version of Visual Studio and not an Express version. The Express versions are known to have problems and limitations.
VincentG
 
Posts: 7728
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2006 5:00 am
Location: Corvallis, Oregon

by VincentG » Thu Sep 09, 2010 12:48 pm

[quote=Harinath]I'm new to this area.I have stupid questions.
Would you tell how to get 3D position from 3 cameras(single marker) ?
Is it possible to get orientation(rotation) form single marker ?

Regards
Harinath
[/quote]

1 - You could either write your own 2D tracking and 3D Calibration and Triangulation code (which is a large undertaking), or you could use our Tracking Tools SDK and application to get 3D and 6DOF tracking data from multiple cameras..

http://www.naturalpoint.com/optitrack/p ... rison.html

2 - No, a marker cluster (rigid body) is required to get both x/y/z, and yaw/pitch/roll
VincentG
 
Posts: 7728
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2006 5:00 am
Location: Corvallis, Oregon


Return to OptiTrack SDK