which cameras for active IR tracking

zsero

which cameras for active IR tracking

Post by zsero »

Hi,

Can you tell me what differences are between the different NaturalPoint cameras when used for active marker IR tracking? I would like to use some camera for active marker IR tracking, and I've read in the Camera SDK that it supports cameras more affordable compared to V120:SLIM. I am a student and thus on a tight budget. What really made me excited about Camera SDK is the support for TrackIR cameras. As I wouldn't need most of the advanced features of V120:SLIM cameras, like the IR illuminator or the filter switcher, or the support for 3D tracking tools, they look like good candidates for me. Are there any limits using TrackIR 5 for example compared to V120:SLIM, if I don't need 3D tracking nor passive IR support nor filter switching?

I have some questions generally about all NaturalPoint cameras which are not clear to me:
- Do different NaturalPoint cameras process IR blobs inside the camera and if yes, how many IR markers do they support? In cameralibraryglobals.h I've seen max objects 500, but it seems a bit too much. Tracking 500 IR blobs in real time would take a huge amount of processing, not something I can imagine happening in a low power on-board chip. Is it really supported?
- How is it possible to have high quality MJPEG output and low latency blob detection at the same time? Is the camera running low latency blob detection on-board, parallel to outputting MJPEG?

And some questions about Camera SDK support for TrackIR 5 cameras:
- What kind of output modes does this camera support? In my case all I'd like to have is the coordinates of a few IR dots, maybe up to 10 dots. Is it supported on a TrackIR 5 camera?
- What would be the most important benefit for me in investing in a V120:SLIM system over a TrackIR 5 system?

Zsolt Ero
LinusA

Re: which cameras for active IR tracking

Post by LinusA »

[quote=zsero]