Why doesn't Motive 3.0 support the Flex series?

Post Reply
eaglet
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2021 1:44 am

Why doesn't Motive 3.0 support the Flex series?

Post by eaglet » Mon Jul 12, 2021 9:35 am

I was surprised by the Motive 3.0 beta release.
However, I was disappointed to hear that all Flex series cameras would not be supported.
We have been waiting for Motive 3.0 for a very long time, and all I can say is that it is a shame.
There should be nothing wrong with the hardware to be able to use the new skeleton solver.
Are you not going to support the Flex series?

steven.andrews
NaturalPoint Employee
NaturalPoint Employee
Posts: 674
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2015 11:52 am

Re: Why doesn't Motive 3.0 support the Flex series?

Post by steven.andrews » Tue Jul 13, 2021 3:07 pm

Hi eaglet,

Thank you for sharing this feedback with the community. We understand your frustration and are sorry for this.

The security key that protects the integrity of Motive 3.0 is not currently supported by USB-based OptiTrack cameras. Please reach out to sales@naturalpoint.com if you would like to discuss this further; we would be happy to help you with a solution.

Best,
Steven
--
Steven Andrews
OptiTrack | Senior Customer Support Engineer
help.naturalpoint.com
wiki.optitrack.com
support@optitrack.com

eaglet
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2021 1:44 am

Re: Why doesn't Motive 3.0 support the Flex series?

Post by eaglet » Thu Jul 15, 2021 1:46 am

That seemed like very good news.
However, as you said, I contacted sales, only to get the answer that the Flex series will not work with Motive 3.0.
They then suggested that I purchase Primex cameras.

The way you wrote it, it could be read that the security key is not supported, but the software itself supports Flex cameras.
After posting on the forum, I noticed that the Flex13 camera is listed as "Coming Soon" in the Motive 3.0 specs list.
What are the actual plans for the future?

oddbody
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2022 2:07 am

Re: Why doesn't Motive 3.0 support the Flex series?

Post by oddbody » Mon Jan 10, 2022 12:22 pm

Hi,

This topic is important for me as I'm close to buying a Optitrack system using flex13 cameras,
but I also want to be able to upgrade to motive 3 at some point. I checked the motive specs
as suggested in this thread, and was wondering if you have a more precise date of when this
feature will be implemented.

Thanks,

Iwan

oddbody
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2022 2:07 am

Re: Why doesn't Motive 3.0 support the Flex series?

Post by oddbody » Wed Jan 12, 2022 5:09 am

Hi,

Yes I just talked to the sales representative for Europe as well and he told me the same thing, that
the Flex13 cameras won't be upgraded to motive body 3.0 and that the coming soon message would
be removed from the page shortly.

That basically means that the Flex cameras will always be stuck at v 2.3, which makes it a legacy
system and makes me second guess investing in it. It would be good to get an official statement on
this issue to help clear things up.

Thanks,

Iwan

Post Reply