Hand / Finger Tracking

MarShiim

Hand / Finger Tracking

Post by MarShiim »

Hello everyone!
I'm a student from germany and new in this whole motive/tracking-thing. I'm curious about tracking hands and fingers with Motive. I want to do this live (not in edit-mode) and stream the data into Unity. I figured out, that the selectable predefined full-body skeletons only support markers attached to the forefinger, the little finger and the thumb.

So my question is: Is it somehow possible to have (or create) a skeleton consisting (maybe only) of a hand (maybe plus the arm), which supports tracking of all four fingers and the thumb? I fear that I cannnot manually create skeletons? I know that it is possible to manually label markers, but that won't work in live state, right?

If the skeleton-thing isn't possible, are there some workarounds how I can realize this? Maybe with a bunch of rigidbodies? If so, will it really takes three markers per rigidbody for each segment of the finger? (otherwise I cannot bend the finger because of the rigid in rigidbody.) That are a lot of markers really close to each other. I don't know how accurate this will be?

Many thanks!
NaturalPoint-Dustin

Re: Hand / Finger Tracking

Post by NaturalPoint-Dustin »

Hello,

Rigid Bodies would be your best option at this point. You will need to create 3 markers per rigid body. How many cameras and what camera model are you using?

Best Regards,
Dustin
Technical Support Engineer
OptiTrack | TrackIR | SmartNav
MarShiim

Post by MarShiim »

I use the Flex 13 system with twelve cameras.
NaturalPoint-Dustin

Thanks for responding. I would be happy to give more advice. But I will need more information on your system. Could I have you create a ticket with us at help.naturalpoint.com?
Dustin
MarShiim

Post by MarShiim »

Yes, of course. Do you need all the data like hardware or license serialnumber?
NaturalPoint-Dustin

Thanks. I received the ticket.
Dustin
AnnaF

Post by AnnaF »

Hi,