Questions regarding Rigid Bodies

sceu

Questions regarding Rigid Bodies

Post by sceu »

hi,

I am quite new to Motive and Optitrack. I did some test measurements of devices and humans to become familiar with the system. Currently I am working with Motive 1.10.

Now I have a couple of questions regarding rigid bodies, hopefully someone can help me :-).
Many thanks in advance!

Question 1: Benefits of rigid bodies for marker tracking

If I create a rigid body before recording, the defined rigid body can improve the marker tracking ("Reconstructed Markers Only" = false, "Tracking Algorithm" = Ray based), right?
If I create a rigid body in an existing take, it will not have any positiv effect on marker tracking anymore?

Question 2: Renaming markers in rigid bodies

Is it possible to rename the markers of a rigid body in Motive 2.0?

Question 3: Experiments with rigid bodies (labeling of markers)
I created a rigid body with the name Arm3 consisting of 4 markers in an existing take. The take was recorded without rigid bodies or a marker set. As I wanted to define the positions of the markers within the rigid body, I manually labeled the markers. This was the result:
So the position of each marker within a rigid body is predefined by Motive? Is there a way to change/ define the positions/ oder of the marker in a rigid body manually?

If I apply "Reconstruct and Auto-label" on the take with the described rigid body Arm3, the orientation of the rigid body based on the 4 markers is correct. However, the rigid body "jumps away" at a certain point in the take but moves back into the correct position a few frames later:
What could be the reason for the this "jump"?

If I manually label the markers of the rigid body Arm3 in a slightly different order compared to the auto-labeling, the body does not jump anymore:
How does Motive determine the position of the markers within a rigid body? And how can I make sure, a rigid body does not jump?