14 fps in half life two-help!

Post Reply
Dolphin Cat
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 5:00 am

14 fps in half life two-help!

Post by Dolphin Cat » Thu Dec 01, 2005 1:36 am

I am playing half life two and using the smartnav to look around, but its judders as if the frame per second was only 15 FPS.

It seems as if the smartnav data is sampled at about 15 Hz within half life.

Can anyone try this on their computer and tell me if they have the same?

I have tried all the settings in half life and smartnav and have changed the priority of various processes but it is still blocky.

What are frames per second like in different games when using smartnav to look ?

Normal PS/2 mouse scrolls fine like in a film, what can I do? Help!

[ December 01, 2005, 11:56 AM: Message edited by: Dolphin Cat ]

kevin
Posts: 315
Joined: Fri Sep 24, 2004 5:00 am
Location: Corvallis

Re: 14 fps in half life two-help!

Post by kevin » Mon Dec 05, 2005 9:27 am

You can try using our TrackIR software.

Dolphin Cat
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 5:00 am

Re: 14 fps in half life two-help!

Post by Dolphin Cat » Tue Dec 06, 2005 4:08 am

I have tried that also now, it seems to use the same software layers for the mouse as a as the smartnav.-also juddering

kevin
Posts: 315
Joined: Fri Sep 24, 2004 5:00 am
Location: Corvallis

Re: 14 fps in half life two-help!

Post by kevin » Tue Dec 06, 2005 4:25 am

That is odd, we have many people who play Half Life, CounterStrike and other games with no problems at all.

There is a movie on our movies page with Bobby who uses his SmartNAV hands free mouse to play Counter Strike totally hands free with no jitters at all.

Dolphin Cat
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 5:00 am

Re: 14 fps in half life two-help!

Post by Dolphin Cat » Thu Dec 08, 2005 4:15 am

Half life one is probably all right, but half life 2 looks like there's an earthquake going on.

I would appreciate it if someone had a look to see if it is me with hl2 , it can only be on the software level-the hardware is good.
I've heard that someone had the same problem with rtcf.

Also Far Cry is a little bit jumpy compared to a PS/2 mouse, I don't know why.

Could it be to do with the mouse driver used by smartnav?

Perhaps someone on the hl2 developers Forum would know? do you think it's something to do with my dual processor computer?

[ December 08, 2005, 11:17 AM: Message edited by: Dolphin Cat ]

Dolphin Cat
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 5:00 am

Re: 14 fps in half life two-help!

Post by Dolphin Cat » Thu Dec 15, 2005 9:33 am

I guess you can confirm there is a major bug in half life 2 until someone can say otherwise for certain. it's the same bug that someone reported with Wolfenstein.

Dolphin Cat
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 5:00 am

Re: 14 fps in half life two-help!

Post by Dolphin Cat » Thu Dec 15, 2005 9:33 am

I guess you can confirm there is a major bug in half life 2 until someone can say otherwise for certain. it's the same bug that someone reported with Wolfenstein.

I mo so far it's the only game I have encountered with a serious scrolling bug.

[ December 15, 2005, 04:37 PM: Message edited by: Dolphin Cat ]

Dolphin Cat
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 5:00 am

Re: 14 fps in half life two-help!

Post by Dolphin Cat » Sun Jan 22, 2006 4:34 am

Same goes for quake 4, there is a major bug that means the cursor shudders with naturalpoint software, it is playable with maximum mouse moving, but without in the game mouse is smoothing, it is unplayable.

This is clearly a software bug.

Post Reply