TrackIR 5 stopped working in Prepar3D v4

Post Reply
captainbluesky
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2018 2:46 pm

TrackIR 5 stopped working in Prepar3D v4

Post by captainbluesky » Mon Apr 02, 2018 3:24 pm

TrackIR 5 has suddenly stopped working in Prepar3D v4. I have the latest TrackIR 5 version installed. The hat sensors work in the TrackIR software interface (I see the 3 green dots on the dummy's head), the left green light is visible on the hardware, but the right green light does not light up when in Prepar3D v4 with no TrackIR in virtual cockpit etc.

I right click on Chaseplane, TrackIR, SkyForce and Prepar3D and select Run as Admin as standard.

I have tried the recently posted advice below in italics but the problem still remains. I understand this is a fairly common problem.

Please advise:

a) how do I get TrackIR 5 working again asap?

b) will an enhanced update be issued to resolve this problem?


\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v4\redist\Interface\FSX-SP1\retail\lib
\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v4\redist\Interface\FSX-SP2-XPACK\retail\lib

If they already exist, try running the included MSI files to reset them. Once you have done that, reboot the computer, and then run TrackIR as administrator, and then run the game with administrator privileges as well.

captainbluesky
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2018 2:46 pm

Re: TrackIR 5 stopped working in Prepar3D v4

Post by captainbluesky » Tue Apr 03, 2018 12:41 pm

Problem solved folks. I had a look at this thread below and followed it step by step. My Track IR suddenly works again in Prepar3D v4. Be sure to methodically find/delete all the "NaturalPoint" and "TrackIR" instances in your Registry Editor as per Steps 7. and 8.

https://forums.naturalpoint.com/viewtop ... 60&t=14327

Very strange that Track IR suddenly stopped working (after working fine) but all good now!

Specifically:

Mike Witham got me to do this and it worked

1. Remove TrackIR from add/remove programs
2. Remove NaturalPoint Drivers from add/remove programs.
3. Delete installer executable from where you saved it
4. Delete NaturalPoint folder from Program Files x86
5. Delete NaturalPoint folder from %APPDATA% location.
6. Open regedit.exe as an administrator
7. Search for and delete files labeled as "NaturalPoint"
8. Search for and delete files labeled as "TrackIR"
9. Reboot PC
10. Download new installer from website
11. Right-click and install as an administrator
12. Plug in TrackIR and verify the driver install.

captainbluesky
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2018 2:46 pm

Re: TrackIR 5 stopped working in Prepar3D v4

Post by captainbluesky » Tue Apr 03, 2018 2:41 pm

I spoke too soon.

I thought I had fixed this.

Now not working again.

Can Support reply re: a fix please?

Chris.Johnson
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2017 1:56 pm

Re: TrackIR 5 stopped working in Prepar3D v4

Post by Chris.Johnson » Wed Apr 04, 2018 11:38 am

Hello captainbluesky,

Please contact Support directly at support@naturalpoint.com
All the Best,
Chris Johnson
Customer Support Engineer
NaturalPoint

cirurgiao
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2018 6:12 am

Re: TrackIR 5 stopped working in Prepar3D v4

Post by cirurgiao » Sun Jun 24, 2018 1:48 pm

I need help here.
I bought P3D4 recently and just couldn't make TrackIR 5 work. Followed all instructions about uninstalling TrackIR, Natural Point, folder in Program Files x86, %APPDATA%, even REGEDIT but to no avail.
What I'm doing that's wrong?
Tks

Post Reply