Exporting a rigid body from setup A and importing it on setup B

Post Reply
JosephMatan
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Jan 05, 2020 8:52 am

Exporting a rigid body from setup A and importing it on setup B

Post by JosephMatan » Sun Jan 05, 2020 9:10 am

Hi,

I'm very new with Motive API, and I believe this question is quite basic, but I didn't find it in the forum.

I have a setup in one place, lets call it setup A, and I have another setup in a different place, lets call it setup B.
The setups have a different number of cameras, and a different room architecture.
I chose one rigid-body in setup A and export it to a <motive> file.

Can I import/open this <motive> file in setup B, so now the Motive API in setup B will recognize the rigid-body from setup A ? (I understand the answer should be yes - just want to be sure)
Does this import/open of <motive> file may change/overwrite important or unique configurations in setup B (I understand it shouldn't overwrite the calibration, since the calibration saved in a different type of file) ?

Thanks,
Joseph

steven.andrews
NaturalPoint Employee
NaturalPoint Employee
Posts: 576
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2015 11:52 am

Re: Exporting a rigid body from setup A and importing it on setup B

Post by steven.andrews » Mon Jan 06, 2020 11:29 am

Hi Joseph,

Thanks for sharing your questions with the community.
You are correct; if you export the rigid bodies from one system and import them onto another, they should track all the same. This is assuming the markers on the physical objects are secure and do not shift or get moved.

As long as you are selecting the rigid bodies in the Assets pane and choosing the Export Assets option, this should save a .motive file that only contains the rigid body information. The file is in XML format, so If you want to be certain you can open it in a text editor and verify no other Motive settings are being changed.

I hope this helps. If you run into any issues, feel free to reach out to us directly.

Best,
Steven
--
Steven Andrews
OptiTrack | Senior Customer Support Engineer
help.naturalpoint.com
support@optitrack.com

JosephMatan
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Jan 05, 2020 8:52 am

Re: Exporting a rigid body from setup A and importing it on setup B

Post by JosephMatan » Tue Jan 07, 2020 12:43 pm

Thanks for your reply, it was very helpful !!

Joseph

Post Reply